Chocolate lavender tart

It is just a day to Valentine’s day. I don’t really give any special meaning to a commercial day as such and I don’t expect a big bouquet of flowers or a big present from J. I think that the most important thing for a couple in a relationship or marriage is to take time to appreciate each other for the little things and in little ways.

Even then, I don’t want to become the Grinch who stole Christmas. So I’m still baking something special this Valentine’s day. You know I’m not really the kind who makes pretty, dainty things. Don’t get me wrong, I love them and I admire those works of art. Instead, I focus more on flavours. So while others have been making pretty candy filled in glass bottles, creative and colourful cake pops and other yummy heart-shaped goodies, I baked some chocolate lavender tarts.

All the marketing and advertising for chocolate must have rubbed off me in the most unconscious of ways. I do associate chocolate with romance. I feel very loved when I’m given a box of assorted handmade truffles. Being a self-professed chocoholic, I don’t mind any occasion that calls for chocolates. Don’t you think any reason to eat chocolate is a good one?

Lavender is dreamy, soothing, and romantic. I think I pretty much from those associations from the use of lavender in perfumes and aromatherapy. I’m not sure if you agree.

In the spirit of Valentine’s day, I decided to pair the two of them together. Each of them is good on its own but better when they are together – the luscious, creamy smoothness of the milk chocolate together with the dreamy, floral flavour of the lavender. It’s truly beautiful.

J is in love with this tart and this is enough to make me smile.

Happy Valentine’s day to all you lovebirds out there! Remember to take time to appreciate the little things.

xx,
Jo

Recipe: Chocolate lavender ganache
Fills about 33 small tarts, or 23 small tarts and 4 medium tarts

This chocolate lavender ganache is beautiful – it’s smooth, luscious and it just sets so it melts in your mouth the moment you pop it in. Milk chocolate definitely works with lavender, not so much dark chocolate, in my opinion. I experimented with a few types of chocolate and found that a blend of both milk and dark works to my liking best.

Ingredients:
360ml heavy cream
4.5 tsp dried lavender (for culinary use)
380g milk chocolate

OR

200g dark chocolate, chopped (65% cocoa)
180g milk chocolate, chopped (30% cocoa)

Method:
1. Place the dried lavender into the pot of cream and bring it to a boil, as soon as the cream starts to bubble furiously, turn off the heat. Let the dried lavender infuse in the cream for about 15 -20 minutes.

2. Melt the chopped chocolate over a bain marie. Remove the dried lavender bits by pouring the cream over a sieve into the melted chocolate. Stir gently to combine the cream and chocolate. Once the cream and chocolate has been incorporated, fill your cooled tart shells ( Click on link for my pate sucree recipe).

3. Refrigerate the tarts until the ganache sets.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Recipe, Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chocolate lavender tart

  1. pattyabr says:

    your pictures are really big. cool combo with the lavendar and chocolate

  2. I think the important thing is to make your partner smile – every day if you can and with this tart you certainly did! 🙂

  3. How delicious chocolate and lavenders. Romantic… I am so happy you stopped by my cooking website so that I could find yours. Take care, Bam

  4. Pingback: Sablé breton, two-ways | jothetartqueen

  5. Pingback: Lavender macarons | jothetartqueen

  6. Pingback: Lavender honey cupcakes with dark chocolate frosting | jothetartqueen

  7. Pingback: Lavender | Roses & Lace

  8. Pingback: Dark chocolate and lavender madeleines | Jo the tart queen

Leave a Reply

