Homemade kiwi sorbet

I know it’s bitter cold in Europe (it’s indeed surreal to see the waterways and canels in Venice frozen!). Conversely, it’s maddeningly warm in Singapore. What’s with the weather these days?

The best decision that I made all day was to make some kiwi sorbet.  The refreshing, icy-cold sorbet definitely helped lower the body temperature by a few notches and at the same time ease off possible temper flares.

Truth be told, I’m not such a big fan of sorbets when I am out. They are often made from processed fruit puree and have large ice crystals which doesn’t give it a smooth mouthfeel.

What changed my mind was my experience in Italy. The sorbets there are the best I’ve tasted – as fresh as the fruit itself, bursting of big flavours. I can swear that they are as good as any other gelato flavours like gianduia (chocolate hazelnut) or pistacchio (pistachio).

Thankfully, I have recently made my ice-cream pre-freeze container a permanent fixture in my freezer so I can make ice-cream on a whim.

The only reason why I made kiwi sorbet instead of any other flavour was simple – because I just bought a box of Italian kiwis. It is not hard to make sorbets but there are some things you need to take note of:

1. The sugar concentration levels is between 16- 18° baume (this can be measured by a saccharometer) for the sorbet to have a good texture.  Well, I don’t have a saccharometer at home so I simply followed the recipe to a T.

It was only after making the sorbet that I read on Zoe’s blog that you can test out the sugar concentration level by trying to float a whole egg on the sorbet mixture.

2. It is essential to chill the sorbet mixture well before churning it in an ice-cream machine. This will ensure that the sorbet/ice cream will freeze in the shortest period of time.

The ice cream maker that I have at home is the most basic of models and it can only make a small quantity at a go. But it is good that way because homemade sorbets and ice creams are best eaten within a few days.

Have your go at this sorbet and it will ( I guarantee) blow your mind.

I will definitely be making more sorbets and ice creams since I don’t think it will get any cooler any time soon. Want to try my hands on lemongrass and candied ginger ice cream.

keepin’ it cool,
Jo

p.s it got incredibly hard to photograph the sorbet as it melted really swiftly under the heat.

Recipe: Kiwi (Kiwifruit) sorbet
Makes 1/4 litre
Recipe from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

This sorbet is especially refreshing on a hot and humid day. Its flavour is sweet and tart at the same time, very fresh and intense.

250g kiwi fruit
38g caster sugar
83ml water

1.  Peel the kiwifruits using a paring knife. Cut the kiwifruit into chunks and puree them in a blender. Add the sugar and water and blend until smooth.

2. Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Mine took about 15 minutes.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade kiwi sorbet

  1. Pingback: Dark chocolate sorbet | jothetartqueen

  2. Pingback: Homemade lemongrass and ginger ice cream | jothetartqueen

Leave a Reply

