Grapefruit meringue cake – lemon meringue cake revised

grapefruit meringue cake

As you my readers can tell, I have a fondness for meringues and curds. This time, I’ve made a grapefruit meringue cake. It’s very much like its more popular counterpart, the lemon meringue cake – perhaps just less sharp and tart on the palate.

While I love the bold contrast in a lemon meringue cake – the tartness and acidity from the lemon curd in contrast the sweetness and caramelised sugar of the Italian meringue, with a nice, light sponge curd that brings every component together, I must admit that there is much appeal for its more subtle cousin, the grapefruit meringue cake.

The grapefruit meringue cake is mellow, a nice balance of flavours without having one flavour being more pronounced than the other.

I think replacing the grapefruit curd with the lemon curd would make this cake a good alternative for people who have low tolerance for sour flavours.

meringue cake

This is perhaps my second time making a grapefruit curd. I realised that even though the flesh and juice of the grapefruit is ruby red, somehow when you turn it to curd, the colour is a lot less intense! The grapefruit curd, on both occasions, was a pale yellow-orange. Not exactly eye-catching if you ask me, especially when it is layered with the sponge.

I think that’s the only disappointment I have with this cake. If anyone has succeeded in making a reddish grapefruit curd, please do share with me some tips – I’m not too fond of using food colouring if I can help it.
a sllice of grapefruit meringue cake

This is quite an easy yet impressive cake to put together; you can make the sponge and curd a day ahead, and simply assemble and prepare the Italian meringue the next day. You don’t need good frosting/icing skills for this one; you can either pipe little blobs like I have, or simply do it the good, old-fashioned way – spreading it with a palette knife.

Somehow even though I’m very fond of lemon desserts, this one might be my new favourite.

Did I also mention that this cake managed to please my usual curd haters?

Instead of scrunching up their faces and telling me that the curd is too sour, they requested for seconds of this cake!

grapefruit meringue parfait

grapefruit meringue cake slice

Recipe: Grapefruit meringue cake
Makes a 9 inch cake

While this recipe is titled grapefruit meringue cake, you should not feel restricted by it. You can use any citrus fruits like lemon, lime, orange for the curd. Or even passionfruit. You can also create this is in the form of a parfait – using martini glasses and layering the components. I think they look pretty when served individually as a dessert to round off a meal.

If you prefer this in the form of a tart, you can also use the curd and meringue recipe here with your favourite pate sucree (sweet tart pastry) recipe. Refer to my previous post on lemon meringue tarts.

For the sponge cake (light genoise):

Ingredients:
240g eggs (about 4 large eggs)
100g caster sugar
100g unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
100g plain flour, sifted

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 165 degrees celsius. Line and grease a 8″ springform cake tin.

2. Warm eggs and sugar up over a bain marie, until sugar has dissolved and egg mixture is lukewarm to touch. Be careful not to cook the eggs.

3. Whisk the egg mixture at maximum speed for about 6-8 minutes untill pale, thickened, and triple in volume. Batter should be at ribbon consistency.

4. Pour in melted butter (warm but not hot) and fold through the batter.

5. Fold in the sifted flour through the batter thoroughly. Pour cake batter into cake tin and bake immediately in the pre-heated oven for about 28 -30 minutes, until it springs back to touch. Do not open the oven in the first 20 minutes of the baking or the cake may collapse.

6. Allow the cake to cool completely on a cooling rack. Trim the brown top and bottom off and divide the cake diagonally into three equal layers (into thirds). Use a cake turn table and a long serrated knife for best results.

For the grapefruit curd:

Ingredients:
125g Caster sugar
150g Eggs
125ml citrus juice (I use one ruby red grapefruit and half a lemon)
200g Unsalted butter, cut into small cubes

Method:
1. Put the lemon juice, caster sugar, and eggs into a stainless steel bowl. Whisk them over a bain-marie.

2. At first, the mixture will go frothy and bubbly. Continue whisking until it thickens until a ribbon stage. This means that as you lift the whisk from the mixture, it will fall back upon itself but should leave a trail or ‘ribbon’ across the surface. This ribbon will not immediately sink back in on itself but will hold firm.This will take a while so be patient.

3. Take the thickened mixture off heat and add in the cubed butter and whisk until incorporated. Cling wrap the bowl and place the curd in the fridge and allow it to cool before use.

For the Italian meringue:

Ingredients:
80g Egg white
160g Caster sugar
60ml water

Method:
1. Put in the water and caster sugar into a clean, grease-free pot. Do not stir mixture to prevent crystalisation of sugar. Cook to a soft-ball stage or until 118 degrees celcius. Use a thermometer to measure the temperature of the sugar as it boils.

2. Start whisking the egg whites until soft peak stage only when the thermometer shows that syrup is at 100 degrees celcius.

3. Once the sugar syrup reaches 118 degrees celcius, take it off the heat and allow the syrup to stop bubbling so rapidly before pouring into the egg whites. Continue to whisk the egg whites at maximum speed until cool and stiff.

4. Fill a piping bag with the italian meringue and pipe over the lemon curd. Using a blow-torch, glaze the meringues.

*Tip: Once egg whites have reached soft peaks, turn the mixer to a low speed as you pour in the sugar syrup in a steady stream. Once you have poured all the syrup, turn the speed to maximum.

Lemon sugar syrup

Ingredients:
75ml water
75 ml granulated sugar
juice from half a lemon (or to taste)

Method:
1. Place water and sugar in a small pot over medium heat. Bring to a boil before turning the heat off and add the lemon juice to taste.

2. Brush over cake tops when it is still warm as it allows the sugar syrup to soak the cake layers better.

To assemble:

cake board
turntable (if you have one)
blowtorch
palette knife

Method:

1. Place one of the sponge cake layers onto a cake board. Brush the genoise sponge with sugar syrup if you have not done so already. Ensure that the sponge is well-soaked.

2. Roughly divide the curd into three equal portions. Place 1/3 of the curd onto the sponge cake and use a palette knife to spread it evenly and to the edges of the cake.

3. Place the second layer of sponge cakes on top, brush with sugar syrup and repeat step #2.

4. Place the third layer of sponge cakes on top, brush with sugar syrup and repeat step #2. You can place this in the fridge to chill while you prepare the Italian meringue.

5. Pipe/spread the Italian meringue onto the top and sides of the cake. Use a blowtorch to caramelise the meringue until evenly golden brown. The more caramlised it is, the less sweet the meringue will taste.

6. Refrigerate cake until ready to serve.

slice of meringue cake

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Desserts, frozen desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Grapefruit meringue cake – lemon meringue cake revised

  1. knock …knock… I am running out of sugar can I borrow some? Aaah I smell something sweet and delicious? Can I have a bite? (pretending I am a neighbor) 😀

  2. Melanie says:

    Oh this sounds so good! And the cake looks so moist and spongey, mmmm. I can taste this with a pot of tea and a catch up with the girls on the couch. I really love lemon meringue flavours but always choose chocolate desserts. I need to remember to try lemon and grapefruit or other citrus desserts more. Thanks for the reminder!

    • I LOVE chocolate desserts too! And went through a phase where I made everything chocolate.
      your chocolate desserts always look sumptuous!

      but yeah maybe someday you can try some citrus desserts, who knows, you may just fall in love with them and leave chocolate aside once in a while. 😉

  3. pattyabr says:

    Grapefruit should be a food trend for 2013 I’ve saw it a margarita-type drink instead of lime what a beautiful cake

  4. Hello Jo, I do not know where to start but I love every part of this recipe, especially your meringue peaks. I think this little cake would be perfect for a bridal shower and a perfect way to celebrate spring. Shared this one on facebook too! Take care, BAM

  5. That’s a brilliant idea Jo using grapefuit instead of lemons! I must remember that next time my mum gives me some 😀

  6. Oh, what a beauty! I never thought of covering a moist, brightly-flavored citrus cake with toasted meringue just like the pie, but it’s absolutely brilliant. I know that my mom especially isn’t a big fan of thick, heavy buttercream, so I bet she’d adore this lighter topping.

  7. mmm I love grapefruits my friend, this looks delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. Pingback: Healthy Coconut Lime-Curd Bars Recipe « WHOLE LIVING WEB MAGAZINE

  9. Maikkeli says:

    Could a nice dark blood orange lend some colour to the grapefruit curd?

    • Thanks for the great idea! I actually think this cake would do great with a blood orange curd.. it would give a lovely colour and flavour.

      I’ll try it next time when blood oranges are in season.

Leave a Reply

