Matcha chiffon cake

Matcha chiffon cake cover

Matcha or green tea is one of my favourite flavours. It is an ingredient that I like using in my baking repertoire.

As I usually bug my family and friends to buy matcha powder for me during their travels to Japan, I have since amassed quite a couple of packets. You would probably find a lot more upcoming matcha blog posts from me. Even as I’m writing, I’m thinking of matcha macarons with a matcha flavoured ganache.

I’ve been trying to perfect this matcha chiffon cake for some time. I have been tweaking my recipe to find the perfect balance of moistness, lightness and sweetness. After countless attempts, I think I’m finally happy enough to share with you this recipe.

This chiffon cake is the perfect cake for tea. It serves well, standing nice and tall; it has the flavour of green tea without being overpowering; the moistness, lightness and fluffiness that you seek in a chiffon cake; at the same time, it isn’t too rich or sweet to have on a daily basis. You can have it with tea, of course, either a Japanese style green tea (to accentuate the flavours), a Ceylon black tea or coffee would be perfect.

Matcha chiffon cake 2

If you are new to baking chiffon cakes, fret not, I’ll be doing up a detailed post on the tips and tricks to making the perfect one. In the meantime, if you can’t wait, you can hop over to check out the recipe and tips on my perfect pandan chiffon cake.

Happy baking!

matcha chiffon cake slice2

Recipe: Matcha(green tea) chiffon cake
Makes 23cm (9.5″)  chiffon cake

This makes a moist and light matcha chiffon cake. It’s even lighter than its pandan cake (click here for its recipe)counterpart because it does not have the richness of the coconut milk.

Ingredients:

Group A:
5 large egg yolks, room temperature
150g granulated sugar
85ml neutral flavoured oil, like grapeseed or canola
35ml full cream milk
40ml water
160g cake flour
3/4 tsp double acting baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
25g matcha (green tea) powder

Group B:
5 large egg whites, room temperature
pinch of cream of tar tar (optional)
100g caster sugar

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius. Have your chiffon cake tin mould ready. Do not grease it!

2. Whisk yolks with sugar until pale and light. ( I do this with my hand whisk.) Add in the oil and whisk until incorporated.

3. Add in the milk and water then whisk in sifted dry ingredients. Whisk well until there are no lumps.

4. Prepare a meringue: Use group B ingredients to whisk a meringue to glossy, firm, just under stiff peaks. If you have cream of tar tar, you can add in a pinch of it to the egg whites as you begin to whisk it.

5. Whisk your egg whites on your mixer on high speed until soft peaks. When it reaches a soft peak stage, you can start to pour in your caster sugar, in a few additions, while the mixer is still running. Whisk till glossy and firm, just ever so slightly short of stiff peaks. Do not over-whisk; it is better to slightly under-whisk then to over-whisk it.

6. Add in 1/4 of the meringue to the mixture A (egg yolk mixture). Whisk lightly to combine.

7. Add in 1/2 of the remaining meringue to the mixture A (yolk mixture). Fold gently to incorporate before folding in the rest of the meringue. Make sure that the whites are folded into the mixture thoroughly.

8. Gently pour the chiffon cake batter into the chiffon tin. Using a spatula, level and smooth out the top of the cake batter and gently tap the chiffon cake tin against the kitchen counter twice to remove any large air bubbles.

9. Bake at 180 degrees celcius for about 1 hr 5 minutes. The top of the cake should be lightly browned and springs back to touch when it is done. At about 25 minutes into the baking, check on your chiffon cake. If the top starts to get too brown or starts cracking too much, cover the chiffon cake with a sheet of aluminium foil before you continue with the baking. You can turn down the temperature slightly as well to about 170-175 degrees celcius.

10. Remove the ready cake from the oven, place a funnel into the center hole of the tin and invert the cake to cool on a cooling rack. Only attempt to unmould the chiffon cake from its tin when it is cooled fully.

*Storage tip: Keep it in a air-tight container in room temperature and finish it within a few days.

matcha chiffon cake slice

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Matcha chiffon cake

  1. I love your storage tip like that would even be an issue having teenage boys around. It would be lucky if it lasted an hour. You make me laugh!!!

  2. pattyabr says:

    Is it a really light cake or a really moist cake? I’ve never baked or cooked with grapeseed oil before. Do you have an opinion about it? I just found a bakery that makes tea infused cakes that I have to check out. Nice post 🙂

    • It’s a light and fluffy cake..

      I use grapeseed oil because I have it in my kitchen. It’s a healthier choice, that’s all. You can always choose to use other neutral flavoured oil like canola, corn, sunflower…just avoid the olive oils and nut oils..the flavours are too overwhelming..

      How are the tea infused cakes at the bakery? have you tried?

  3. Whenever I think of a beautifully texture chiffon cake I always think of you Jo! You’ve done it again-it looks so light and swoonworthy! 😀

  4. I love tea-based cakes, they are so popular in Taiwan and Japan ^_^ and that looks like a beautiful cake. Maybe I will try to veganise one someday! 😦

  5. Pingback: Black Sesame Chiffon Cake | GinsKitchen

  6. So light and flavoursome my friend, love it 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  7. Pingback: Marble Chiffon Cake | GinsKitchen

  8. Pingback: Back to basics: How to make the perfect chiffon cake | jothetartqueen

  9. Bonnie says:

    hello. I came across this blog and must say I want to try the cake out! however everywhere I look for chiffon cake they all have to use the angel cake pans, which makes layering and decorating difficult…. can I bake this in a non stick normal pan? Thanks 🙂

    • Hello Bonnie,

      Yes you would need a stainless stee/aluminiuml chiffon/angel cake tin.

      It is a very light cake with a delicate structure so it needs to cling on to the sides and center cone of the tin for support as it rises in the oven. And this will also ensure it does not collapse/shrink when you take it out of the oven to cool.

      If you like to layer and decorate the cake, perhaps it would be better to use a different recipe.

      Hope this helps! 🙂

  10. Raeka says:

    Hi , Is it a must for the 3/4 tsp of double acting baking powder ?

    Can I go without it ?

    • Hi Raeka,

      I think it’s best to use it..you can substitute it for baking powder if you dont have D.A baking powder, since you would be baking the chiffon cake after mixing immediately.

  11. Victor says:

    Hi Jo, thanks for the great recipe and instructions! I tried this recipe today and would like to highlight the following:

    1) As per recipe I personally find the cake too sweet and I would really reduce the amount of sugar. I would follow the Pandan Chiffon measurements.

    2) As per recipe Group A ingredients, I find the end mixture to be extremely thick. I added more milk to think it down, should I be doing this?

    The end product turned out great! The cake is light and full of flavor. Once again thanks for a great recipe. Keep them coming.

    • Hi Victor, thanks for your feedback.snd great to hear you baked a good chiffon cake.

      You don’t have to thin down with milk. Group Aingredients may seem quite thick but can be lighten with a scoop of meringue first ( whisk in without worrying about knocking out the air). Then you can fold in the rest of the meringue to the already lightened mixture.

  12. Pingback: Rose cranberry chiffon cake | Jo the tart queen

  13. Evelyn says:

    Hi Jo, thanks for the nice recipe~ and the cake looks absolute YUM~! would like to know if i would like to bake a coffee chiffon cake, can i replace the the 40ml water to 40ml coffee / espresso? 🙂

  14. Pingback: #1: OT(ea) Chiffon Cake | Baking My Way Through My PhD

  15. Pingback: 型いらず!手間いらず!フライパンを使ったシフォンケーキのレシピがとっても美味しそう♡ | キラキラガールズ 〜女子力向上サイト〜

  16. Ling says:

    Hi Jo. I have noticed that all your chiffon cakes (pandan, orange, chocolate, macha) all used different amount of cake flour and liquid. Can you please explain?

Leave a comment