Banana bread

I’ve never been a fan of bananas. They are overly sweet and mushy for my liking. I don’t even like banana desserts like banana chocolate cake. However, after being introduced to the banana bread in Sydney by my dear friend S, the banana bread has become one of my favourites with a strong cuppa coffee.

Ever since I got back to Singapore after my stint in Sydney, I’ve been missing the banana bread that I used to have as my feel good breakfast, my pick-me up in the late afternoons and my indulgence on  chill-out Sundays.

Unfortunately, I was unable to find the banana bread that I have come to love, not even at the Jones the Grocer cafe. Its version somehow lacks banana flavour and the texture errs on the doughy side.

Since then I’ve been experimenting and adjusting  recipes in my search for the perfect banana bread as I remembered it. I can now say that I have found my perfect recipe that makes a great loaf every single time.

Every bite of this bread brings back memories, both significant as well as not so significant. It gives me that warm, fuzzy feeling in my tummy, and a tiny piece of Aussie in our warm, tropical island.

It’s funny how food is so intrinsically linked to memories. Do you have any significant ones you would like to share?

x,
Jo


Banana bread recipe

Makes a 9-inch loaf tin and a 5-inch loaf tin

Believe me, this recipe is simply perfect. It is so easy and it comes out right every single time. It is THE perfect way to use up any old, and over-riped bananas sitting on your kitchen counter. This recipe produces a very moist loaf that delivers well on all the flavours you are looking for in a banana bread. Just be careful not to overbake these darlings. I’ve given indicative baking times but every oven bakes differently so do check on it at the 30 minute mark.

Ingredients:
248g whole eggs, room temperature
270g granulated sugar
365g riped bananas, or very riped bananas, mashed up
270g plain flour
5g double acting baking powder
3g baking soda
pinch of salt
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
180g corn oil (or any neutral flavoured oil)

*Optional: you can add walnuts before baking if you wish

Method:
1. Line your loaf tins with baking paper and butter the sides and bottom generously. Preheat the oven to 165 degrees celcius, fan-forced or 180 degrees (if not using fan-forced).

2. Whisk eggs and sugar until thick and pale, 3-5 minutes at medium speed.

3. Add in the mashed up bananas and whisk until well-combined.

4. Mix in the sifted ingredients until well-incorporated.

5. Drizzle in the corn oil and fold through the mixture until it is well-incorporated.

6. Fill the loaf tins about 3/4 full and bake for 30-35 minutes for the small loaf and 40-45 minutes for the large loaf or until it springs back to touch. Allow it to cool slightly in the tin before removing to cool on a cooling rack.

7. You can serve it warm and toasted, or with some ricotta cheese and honey or simply plain and unadorned.

*Storage tip: This loaf will keep in an air-tight container at room temperature for about 5 days but it is best eaten within a day or two.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breads, Breakfast, Cakes, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Banana bread

  1. The addition of cinnamon would be so yummy.. I can just imagine this baking in my kitchen, it would be so fragrant! xx

  2. To Markt To Markt says:

    I can tell by the photo alone that this is a moist banana bread!! So often it comes out dry and tasteless, but this looks perfectly crafted. I will try this recipe this weekend!

  3. Pingback: The Home Bakers #10: Danish Chocolate Swirl Coffee Bread « Food Is My Life

  4. I like your choice in bananas. These are my favorite as they are so sweet. The perfect slice of banana cake with a cuppa and a good friend. What more does a girl need? Maybe just one more slice of banana bread…Take care, BAM

  5. I make mine with chocolate chips! Love the baby bananas!!

  6. This banana bread looks like it would send everyone to heaven 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. That looks like an awesome banana bread Jo! And I admire your pursuit for the perfect one! 😀

  8. Totally hear you about the powers of banana bread. I went through a stage as a kid where I hated bananas, but always devoured my mom’s chocolate chip banana bread with gusto. I couldn’t figure out the odd name though… Why call it “banana bread” when clearly nothing as disgusting as a banana would go into something so delicious? It didn’t click for many years… 😉

    • ah yeah..the power of banana bread! I think baked goods just transforms the bananas. do you like any other banana desserts/cakes?

      • I have since accepted whole bananas back into my life, so I do also love frozen bananas on sticks, dipped in melted chocolate and sprinkled with chopped nuts or cacao nibs. They’re great alternatives to popsicles in the summer. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Banana Bread | familyrecipebooks

  10. bali tour says:

    Thanks for the information
    Its good article

  11. Deb says:

    Hi Jo!
    I’ve been searching for a gd recipe for long time and I found it! It turned out exactly as you described. Love this cake and thx for sharing your insights and techniques:)
    Happy New Year of the Horse:)
    Look forward it trying other recipes of your.
    Sincerely,
    Deb

  12. 5 Orange Peels says:

    Thanks for the recipe! just made it and not only did it fill my house with amazing bananary fragrance, it tastes amazing! Added some chopped almonds and reduced the sugar –> best breakfast ever 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

