Rose and raspberry tarts

Raspberry and rose tart 4

Rose is such an maligned flavour; most people would avoid it like plague thinking it taste like bandung, a drink made with rose syrup and evaporated milk that is overly sweet and syrupy, in my opinion, but is very popular in Singapore and Malaysia); otherwise, they tend to overlook it for more exciting flavours.

I used to fall in the former category but I’m unabashedly now a rose convert. I love the subtle flavour that rose brings with it – be it in cakes, macarons or sablés. I would believe you can now tell from the number of posts relating to rose on my blog.

This dessert brings my two favourites on the same plate, tarts and rose, which makes it a winner in my books from the very genesis of it.

Raspberry and rose tart 5

The flavours of this tart ended up to be very delicious. The lush creamy filling with that delicate flavour of rose pairs very well with the fresh raspberries and the crumbly tart.  The filling is too easy to put together compared to some other more effort-consuming ones like créme patisserie (pastry cream) or curd.

The only thing it calls for is to be assembled when it’s made as the whey in Greek yogurt may start to separate if you leave it out for too long. I had some leftover filling cling wrapped in the fridge for two days, and when that happened, I simply poured out the whey, gave it a quick whisk to combine before using. There’s nothing to fret about.

I only wished I remembered that I had some rose water flavoured meringues sitting at the end of my kitchen counter. I would have crushed them roughly and sprinkled them over the tarts – it would have looked pretty as well as reinforcing the rose flavour. But alas, my slow brain didn’t realise it until the tarts were mostly finished.

That is probably just one reason why I would be making these again. I hope you will too.

 

Raspberry and rose tart

 

Raspberry and rose tart2

Recipe: Raspberry and rose tart

The flavour of rose and raspberry goes brilliantly together. The filling is simple to put together. It has a subtle rose flavour that carries through with the creamy and luscious mascarpone and the slightly tart flavour of the Greek yogurt. Simply delicious!

Pâte Sucrée (Sweet tart dough)
Taken from Desserts by Pierre Hérme by Dorie Greenspan

This tart is extremely buttery and crumbly (very delicious) but it also means it is more finicky to work with than with other doughs. The first time, I baked these strips of dough and they started to bend and curve while in the oven. The second time I did that, I baked a whole sheet of dough and only cut them into strips midway through baking.

Ingredients:
285g unsalted butter
170g confectioner’s sugar/icing sugar, sifted
100g ground almonds/almond meal
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg, room temperature
390g all-purpose flour

Method:
1. Cream butter using a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment until soft and creamy. Add the sifted sugar, almonds, salt, vanilla, egg and blend the ingredients on low speed, scrapping down the sides of the bowl as needed.
2. Add in the flour in three additions and mix only until the mixture comes together to form a soft and moist dough. Do not overwork the dough.
3. Cling wrap the dough and allow it to rest in the fridge for at least 4 hrs (I left it overnight).
4. Roll the dough out on a floured surface. This dough is pretty difficult to work with becuase of the high butter content. Best to do it in a cool room. You may also find it easier to roll the dough into between two sheets of plastic wrap. Roll it to about 3mm thickness. Allow it to chill in the fridge for about 20 minutes. Bake in a 180 degrees celcius, preheated for about 15 mins or until golden brown, tart shells would take longer. Store biscuits in an air-tight container.

Rose mascarpone and yogurt filling

Ingredients:
200g Mascarpone, room temperature
100g thick full fat Greek yogurt
3 tsp rose water
3 tbsp icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar, sifted

Method:
1. Place mascarpone cheese into a stand mixer and blend until smooth with a paddle attachment. Add in the Greek yogurt and blend until incorporated.
2. Add in sifted icing sugar and rose water and blend until incorporated. Use immediately.

Assemble:

2 punnets of raspberries
some apricot jam/neutral glaze, if using
Icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar, optional

1. Fill the cooled tart shells with the rose mascarpone and yogurt filling with either a piping bag or a spoon. Smooth the surface with the back of a spoon or a small palette knife.
2. Place fresh raspberries neatly on the tart.
3. Heat up some neutral glaze or apricot jam with a little bit of water. Bring it close to a boil and use a small brush to brush the glaze on the raspberries. If you are eating the tart immediately, you can omit this step and dust the raspberries with some sifted icing sugar.
4. The tart would be lovely with some crushed rose flavoured meringues (if you happen to have them). The tart is best served on the day it is made.

Raspberry and rose tart 3

 

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rose and raspberry tarts

  1. tanya2austin says:

    Gorgeous! I love the rose-raspberry combination, especially with lychee like in Pierre Herme’s Ispahan creations.

  2. Although I’m not a big fan of flowery flavors, or even scents when it comes to soaps and lotions, rose is one of the rare aromas that gets the green light by my palate. It’s just something else entirely, and part of the appeal is its delicacy. I think you captured that perfectly with this carefully composed and nuanced sweet treat.

  3. THIS IS SO PRETTY AND DAINTY!! I love love love and completely agree with you with rose flavorings. It’s so delicate and just such a pretty flavor. Your tarts are just so lovely!

  4. These look lovely! I adore raspberry and rose together. Raspberries are already so floral in flavour, it’s a match made it heaven.

  5. Oh I love rose and always have but really because growing up we never really ate it in many things. I’m discovering it as a great ingredient in a combo nowadays. This looks stunning 😀

  6. Oh, I KNOW that I would LOVE these Jo! Some of my absolute favourite flavours in the world, all brought together at once! So pretty too!

  7. LB says:

    I adore raspberries, and would love to taste the rose.
    Your photography is, as always, absolutely wonderful … can’t tell you how much I like these images!

  8. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  9. milkandbun says:

    When I’m in a cafe I pretty often choose raspberry tarts! Adore raspberry! 😀 Honestly, I don’t like rose water, but the tarts..! They are beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

