Christmas baking: Brown sugar pecan sablés

Brown sugar pecan sables (3)

 

Hi everyone!

We’ve entered the second week of December. This means, it’s time for Christmas baking (if you haven’t already done so). I’ve been a little late in Christmas baking this year because I have been stuck baking these sablés; I have baked three batches in the last two weeks.

These brown sugar pecan sablés are as delicious as they are addictive. You can’t stop at one, I guarantee that. The only thing that stops you from having more is the nagging feeling that you might end up with a sore throat if you pop too many of these in one seating.

A bottle of these brown sugar pecan sablés does make for a lovely Christmas gift. Speaking of gifts, I think that the beauty of homemade gifts is fast disappearing. While it may be  convenient to pick up a gift for someone either from a physical store or even from the multitude of online options, a gift that you make with your very own hands tells a poignant story – of your appreciation, love, care for the special someone.

Since I’m not too good with craft work, many of my gifts come in the form of food gifts (which I absolutely love receiving as well as giving).

So before you head out to pick up something  for a friend, colleague, or neighbour, think about the little something you can make for them to spread a little Christmas love and cheer.

Brown sugar pecan sables (1)

Brown sugar pecan sablés
Makes about 40 sablés
Adapted from David Lebovitz’s Ready for Dessert

Ingredients:

225g unsalted butter (at room temperature)
140g light brown sugar
½ tsp vanilla extract
280g plain flour
¼ teaspoon salt
90g pecans (toasted, cooled and coarsely chopped)

Method:

1. In a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or in a bowl by hand), beat together the butter and brown sugar on medium speed just until completely smooth and no streaks of better remain.
Mix in the vanilla.
2. Add the sifted flour and salt and beat until incorporated. Stir in the cooled and chopped pecans.
3. Split the dough into three or four portions. Turn out the first portion of the dough onto a sheet of cling film and roll it into a log (About 3cm in diameter). Wrap the log tightly and refrigerate until chilled for at least 1 hour or overnight. Do the same for the remaining portions of dough.
4. When you are ready to bake, use a knife and slice the log into about 0.5cm discs and placed cookies onto a baking parchment lined baking tray. Place the cookies about 2.5cm – 3cm apart as it will spread slightly.
5. Bake in a preheated 180 degrees celcius oven for about 10 -12 min, or until golden brown and firm.

Brown sugar pecan sables (2)

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Christmas baking: Brown sugar pecan sablés

  1. Mary Grace says:

    I know what you mean by the disappearing home made gift. My husband and I recently enjoyed baking some traditional dutch cookies for his Secret Santa gift work work. The sweet lady who received the almost cried when she opened the tin. With so much bustle and rush, stress and money that flies around the christmas season. We could all benefit in so many ways if we could learn that more expensive doesn’t mean better. (everyone’s blood pressure and pocket books would benefit.)

    Your cookies look so yummy. I love nibbling on a bit of nutty sweetness.

  2. Philip says:

    Lovely dainty treats. Will make at least a batch this week

  3. Sound fabulous, can’t wait to try them!

  4. These sound delicious. And I’m in love with the little cat spoon!!

  5. LB says:

    I have not yet begun Christmas baking (or anything Christmas yet) but it isn’t Christmas without doing alot of it. Glad to have a new recipe to try! And I agree with you … home baked gifts say so much more!

  6. These sables looks so delicious, I have an addiction to pecans! 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. I absolutely love food gifts and so appreciate it when I receive them. While all gifts are lovely, there is something special about getting a home made food treat! 😀 These look fantastic!

  8. Homemade gifts are easily my favorite part of the holidays- Both giving and receiving, although it really is more fun to hand out a whole stack of fresh baked cookies and see your loved ones’ faces light up. I sure know I’d be thrilled to get such a sweet treat as these pecan sables.

Leave a Reply

