Pantry staples: Chocolate coated nuts

chocolate coated nuts cover

 

This post doesn’t have a recipe (not quite anyway) and everyone can make these with some good chocolate and some nicely toasted nuts.

My dad loves both chocolate and nuts. He loves them on their own and perhaps more so when they are together. He has a not-so-secret addiction to the Marks & Spencer’s chocolate coated Brazil nuts. My sister is his regular supplier of these treats and buys them for him by the dozens. You should see how quickly he runs through these (almost like a chocolate nut eating machine, if there’s such a thing) especially while watching soccer matches.

I decided to be nice and add to his supply of late-night snacks. I coated some melted Valrhona dark chocolate over some lightly toasted Brazil nuts. I didn’t bother tempering the chocolate and didn’t bother being too neat about them because I wanted these to be as fuss free as possible.

I did the same to some dried apricots and also made some nut clusters using a variety of nuts like almonds, pecans, Brazil nuts. I sprinkled some Murray river’s pink sea salt over them for that bit of saltiness. I would encourage you to do the same for the sea salt just makes it taste better.

I intended these chocolate coated snacks to last him for at least a fortnight but unfortunately, my dearest chocolate and nut eating machine devoured them all in a week!

So yes, this will be a great thing to store away in your pantry for a quick afternoon or after dinner snack for lazy days, provided you don’t have chocolate and nut eating machine like I do.

P.S these would be great to add ice cream!

brazil nuts and sea salt

Recipe: Chocolate coated nuts

Not much of a recipe here. All you need is some good chocolate (you can use dark chocolate, milk chocolate or white chocolate, whichever you prefer) and some nuts. For the nut clusters, you can chop up a variety of nuts and coat them with chocolate as you would with the brazil nuts.

Ingredients:
Brazil nuts
good quality chocolate, chopped

1. Toast nuts lightly in the oven. Let them cool completely while you melt the chocolate.
2. It is best to melt some chopped chocolate over a bain marie.
3. Dip the cooled Brazil nut pieces and remove them with a fork and place them on a baking tray lined with aluminum foil or parchment paper. Allow them to set before storing them in an air tight container. I keep these in the wine chiller.
chocolate coated nuts and apriocots
chocolate coated nuts 3

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Pantry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pantry staples: Chocolate coated nuts

  1. Oh so tempting to go and melt down some chocolate and coat the nuts and dried fruit in my pantry right now Jo! 🙂 Yum!

  2. Yum, so simple and delicious. Love the colourful little patty pans as well!

  3. Haha I eat these all the time, I should restock my cupboard 😀
    Great post!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. LB says:

    Yum! They would not last in my home … and it’s just me! Yikes!

  5. I always thought that you needed special equipment for this but yours look perfect Jo! 😀

  6. Chocolate-covered nuts are absolutely a sweet snacking staple around here, but I never thought to give Brazil nuts the same sort of treatment. I usually think of them more as supplements, actually, since I eat one a day to get my RDA of selenium, but it would sure be nice to make them more enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

