Raspberry and white chocolate swiss roll

raspberry and white chocolate swiss roll1

While I was at spin class last week, the instructor played this song that is not on the usual playlist – “September” by Earth, Wind and Fire. It finally dawned on me that September is here.

I love September because it is my birthday month and also the birthday month of my dad, my mother-in-law, my cousins, and my close friends. Yes, I happen to know a lot of Virgos (and they are pretty perfect people in my books).

With all the birthdays in line, I have been baking a lot of chocolate cakes because it seems that Virgos are also chocolate lovers. The biggest one being my dad.

After the intense chocolate bout, all I want is something more delicate in flavour.  As I always have a special soft spot for swiss rolls, I decided to make one with raspberry and white chocolate (yes I know it is still chocolate, yet not quite at the same time).

While a raspberry and chantilly cream swiss roll would have been nice enough, I couldn’t shake off the idea of a white chocolate cream paired with fresh raspberries. I couldn’t be more glad that the idea stuck.

Because I felt like I struck gold with this particular swiss roll.  The result was definitely a whole level up from a more traditional raspberry and chantilly cream roll.

It looks and taste like a dream.  I wish I could explain that better but I don’t think I can without you having tried a slice of this.

You can have a large slice of it with a cup of tea and not feel that it is overly rich, overly indulgent or overly sweet. It ticks all the correct boxes of a lovely dessert in my books.

raspberry and white choc swiss roll3

***

I’ve used a souffle sponge, the same sponge that I made and wrote about in my passion fruit and blackberry swiss roll post. It works like a dream and if you have the fear of rolling up swiss rolls, you should definitely try this recipe out (see, no cracks!).

The crucial point of this recipe is in the sponge.  I can’t emphasize how important it is to use the recommended baking tray size. Not only would the baking time and temperature differ, the difference in thickness of the sponge may cause problems when you roll it up (proportions may not be correct etc.).

Apart from using the correct baking tray, make sure you bake the sponge immediately after you fold in the meringue to allow the sponge to achieve its maximum rise. Once you baked the perfect sponge, you should have no problems in rolling it up. Even if you don’t have the perfect looking roll, I can assure you that the taste would be well worth your effort.

Enjoy the rest of your September. I know I most definitely will.

At the same time, I am hoping that I can fast forward to the end of September because at that time I would not be making desserts but hopefully most definitely enjoying some lovely Parisian desserts, petit fours, and pastries..and ooh some buttery and flaky croissant. Why don’t you wake me up when September ends…

making a roux souffle swiss roll process

folding in the meringue

 

swiss roll2

Raspberry and white chocolate souffle swiss roll
Souffle swiss roll recipe adapted from Okashi by Keiko Ishida
Makes 1 souffle swiss roll

Ingredients:
Group A:
1 whole egg
3 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla extract

Group B:
35g unsalted butter
60g plain flour, sifted twice
60g whole milk

Group C:
3 egg whites
85g caster sugar

Method:
1. Preheat oven 180 degrees celcius. Line a 11″ square cake pan (28cm x 28cm) with baking parchment. If you do not have a pan this size, use a larger tray,and place some oven safe loaf pans to block out the area you do not want to use. Use an aluminum foil to keep to the two parts separated. It is important to bake the sponge cake in the correct size pan.

2. Whisk together group A ingredients and set aside.

3. Group b ingredients: Place unsalted butter in a small saucepan and heat gently until melted. Then add sifted flour to melted butter and use a wooden spoon or spatula to stir it until it is cooked through (just like a roux). It should come away from the sides of the pot and form a ‘dough’. Transfer the flour and butter mixture into a mixing bowl. Then add group A ingredients gradually, whisking to combine until you get smooth batter.

4. Next, add the milk, a little at a time, stir to incorporate.

5. Using a sieve, strain the above batter to remove any lumps, and set aside.

6. Prepare a meringue with Group C ingredients: Whisk egg whites in a grease-free bowl until soft peaks.Gradually add in the sugar and whisk at high speed until stiff peaks.

7. Add in a scoop of the meringue into the already strained batter and whisk. Then add in the remaining meringue in 2-3 additions and fold gently with a spatula until mixture is just incorporated.

8. Pour batter gently onto the prepared pan and spread evenly with a small palette knife. Bake for about 20 minutes until it springs back to touch. The top should be golden brown.

9. When the souffle sponge is out of the oven, cover the pan with cling wrap immediately. You want to cover it when it is still hot so the steam will keep the cake moist and pliable, making it easy to roll without cracking.

10. Allow the sponge to cool down entirely before assembling it.

White chocolate cream
Enough to fill one souffle swiss roll

Ingredients:
80g white chocolate, chopped (I use Callebaut 28% white chocolate)
160ml whipping cream, whipped
1/2 vanilla bean, beans scrapped
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:
1.Stir white chocolate over the top of a double boiler set over simmering water until melted and smooth. Remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature.
2. In a separate bowl, place cream in a grease-free bowl. Cut the vanilla bean lengthwise and scrape seeds into cream. Add in vanilla extract. Whisk at high speed until firm peaks are form.
3. Whisk in about 1/3 of the whipped cream into the melted white chocolate (making sure chocolate is cool or it will melt the cream). Then fold in the cream gently in two additions. Use immediately or cling wrap it and chill it in the refrigerator until ready to use.

To assemble:

Slightly less than half of a punnet of fresh raspberries

1. Turn out the cooled sponge onto a new piece of baking parchment. Trim the sides with a small serrated knife to neaten it.

2. Spread the white chocolate cream onto the sponge as evenly as you can using a palette knife, leaving a margin along all four sides.

3. Slice the raspberries into halves but keep a few of them whole to decorate.

4. Sprinkle the halved raspberries all over the sponge. Gently roll up the sponge starting from the end nearest to you. You should try to roll it quite tightly to get a nice swirl when you cut it. Chill the swiss rolls slightly before you trim off the two ends to achieve a neat finish. Decorate it with piped white chocolate cream and whole raspberries.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

raspberry and white chocolate swiss roll

swiss roll rolling up

raspberry and white choc swiss roll 4

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Raspberry and white chocolate swiss roll

  1. A family full of September babies! Sounds like fun 😉 this looks great!

  2. I have to say, bless you for doing a cycling class AND baking and eating cake. You are clearly the alphaperson. 😛
    I have to say, that roll cake is so perfect. The outside and the inside with no cracks and wow. wowowowowowo. I certainly have to try this soon because I normally crack my rolls. 😥

  3. Hi this looks good. I have the okashi book! Should the tin be left a few minutes before using the cling film to avoid melting?

  4. Haha so many birthdays, so much baking, sounds like a good life 😀
    Beautiful swiss roll, better than the bakeries for sure!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. thehungrymum says:

    sheer perfection on a plate. Looks delightful.

  6. Well, now I didn’t know that about the sponge cake pan. My mom used to make these all the time and they’re a real love of mine. I must make one for my sister in law’s birthday in a few weeks. I have such fond memories of her using icing sugar and a fresh tea towel to help roll it up (not sure why). You’ve really done a lovely, lovely job on this one, Jo!!xx

    • Thanks Smidge!

      Oh must be really nostalgic to bake these with your mum’s swiss rolls in mind. Yes I think there are many recipes that encourage you to roll it up with a tea towel with some sprinkling of sugar to prevent it frm sticking. I used to do that for another swiss roll recipe.

      Happy baking it for your sis-in-law’s birthday. Hope it turns out pretty and delicious!

  7. Absolutely beautiful Jo! Raspberry and white chocolate are the perfect match. I would soooo love a piece of this cake right now!

  8. I’ve been trying my hardest to ignore the fact that it’s September, but now that we’re well past the halfway point, it’s becoming a very difficult task. I wish there were lots of September birthdays or other happy events for me to look forward to, if only it gave me an excuse to partake in a similarly luxurious cake. That beauty is the picture of perfection!

  9. pattyabr says:

    How lovely and light. Beautiful picture! September is a great song to spin to!

  10. LB says:

    It’s so interesting that you mention the song September. NPR offered a great story about that song on Friday.
    Such a beautiful Swiss Roll. I look forward to seeing your photos from Paris!

  11. Pingback: Matcha and azuki bean swiss roll (green tea and red bean swiss roll) | Jo the tart queen

  12. Pingback: Pandan swiss roll with gula melaka chantilly cream | Jo the tart queen

Leave a Reply

