Rose macarons

rose macarons cover

I’ve never been a huge fan of rose but I’m beginning to love the its delicate and subtle flavour more and more.

I have never picked a rose macaron if I had to choose just one or two from a patisserie that has over ten flavours of macarons. After I made these macarons, I’ve changed my mind about them.

This is my first time making rose macarons.  I wasn’t sure how J or I would take to them so I made them with a batch of my favourite chocolate macarons  (just in case).

I didn’t have to worry that much for they were incredibly good. I think I ate more of the rose macarons than the chocolate ones, which is a big statement.

J and I had these macarons after a simple homecooked meal of ragu, potato galette and grilled mushrooms with olive oil and thyme.

That was our low-key Valentine’s day but to us, it couldn’t have gotten any better.

x,
jo

rose macaron valentines day rose macarons

Recipe: Rose macarons
For the macaron shells recipe, please refer to my previous post. I used wilton red and pink food colouring for these.

Makes about 35 regular macarons

Rose buttercream
Recipe from Pierre Hermé Macarons book
The below recipe makes enough to fill about 70 macarons. I halved the recipe for my macarons.

Ingredients:
200g caster sugar
75 g water
150g whole eggs, room temperature
90g egg yolk, room temperature
400g butter, room temperature, cubed
4g of rose essence (I used rosewater)
50g rose syrup

Method:

1. Mix caster sugar and water in a saucepan. Using medium high heat, boil the sugar syrup until it reaches a temperature of 120 °C.
2. In the meanwhile, beat all eggs with a whisk attachment at high speed until thick and pale. You can start doing so when the temperature of the sugar syrup is about 100°C.
3. When the mixer is still on, pour the sugar syrup in a steady stream. Continue to whisk the mixture on high speed until the mixture is cooled.
4. Switch to a paddle attachment and add in the room temperature butter (one or two cubes at a time) into the meringue. The butter should be soft but not melting. Continue mixing until the butter comes together. Don’t panic if the mixture looks curdled. Just continue mixing it on high speed and it will come together.
5. When the buttercream is smooth, add in the rosewater and rose syrup.

rose macarons vday

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Macarons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rose macarons

  1. I’ve gone back and forth on my preferences for rose as a dessert flavor over the years. I think that the key is really managing intensity; It’s delicious when used with finesse and subtlety, but too much just tastes like sweetened potpourri. Your beautiful creations would fall firmly into the former category, I trust. 😉

  2. Thanks Hannah. I totally agree with you on the use of rose.. It is absolutely essential to get the right balance. Otherwise, it will be like eating soap!

  3. A low key Valentines Day is what we usually have! I wish we had these on those occasions too. I’m sure foodies would much rather have a rose macaron than a rose! 😀

  4. Michael says:

    Hi I love your work. I would appreciate any advice you can give on the best tray to use for macaron baking. I have light weight ones that warp even if I double up.
    Thank you in advance
    Michael

    • Hi Michael,

      Thanks for your kind words.

      I would prefer a heavy duty baking tray (a thick and solid one). Aluminum ones works for me. Just need to line it with baking paper. I don’t usually double insulate my trays when baking macarons because they bake well for me.

      the light aluminum ones would warp and buckle under sudden temp changes. It would be wise to get another tray which will go a long way for your macarons (and even cookies baking).

      Hope this helps,
      Jo

      • Michael says:

        Thank you Jo I was thinking about investing. There is nothing worse than herring that twang of a warping pan when you have piped out perfect looking shells

  5. LB says:

    I’ve never had a rose macaron before. These look yummy and glad to know they are subtle and delicious!

  6. How charming and perfect for Valentines day or any day you want to share something special. I bet these did not last long in your house!

  7. Pingback: Must Try: AG Macarons | The Girls on Bloor

  8. Pingback: Rose cranberry chiffon cake | Jo the tart queen

Leave a Reply

