Sesame cookies

sesame cookies1

Black sesame seeds have found their way in many traditional Chinese desserts like the thick and sweet black sesame soup (黑芝麻糊) or black sesame dumpling (tang yuan).

I love the flavour of black sesame especially in desserts and would never reject a black sesame soup, sesame ice cream or sesame dumpling if I see it. And if you offer me sesame cookies, I would find it terribly hard to say no to them too!

I made a few bottles of sesame cookies for the upcoming Chinese New Year festivities. We often have many relatives and friends visiting and to be good hosts, you would often prepare a table full of (the best) treats and goodies for them.

These sesame cookies are packed with sesame flavour so if you don’t like sesame, you would probably want to avoid these! Though I cannot think of any reason why anyone would have such dislike for sesame.

They are basically a sweet shortcrust pastry with lots of toasted sesame in it, making them insanely buttery and crumbly.

When making cookies, I usually opt for the icebox cookies or slice-and-bake cookies method because they are so quick to make and very fast-free. All you need to do is to keep the dough in a log and refrigerate it before cutting and baking them. This means that you can make the logs beforehand (freeze them up to a month) and it makes cleaning up a lot easier.

If you are fussy about cookie shapes, you can also opt to roll the dough out and use a cookie cutter to cut and bake them, of course. There is no rule that says you can’t.

If you find me away from my blog, I’m probably eating and feasting too much. I’ll catch up with you all when I can.

Jo

sesame cookies pre-baking

Recipe: Sesame cookies
Makes about 70-80 small cookies

Ingredients:
250g plain flour
125g granulated sugar
1 tbsp cornflour
1 tsp salt
200g unsalted butter, cubed
50g black sesame seeds
1 large egg (approximately 68-70g)
+/- 1 tbsp iced cold water

Method:
1. Toast the sesame seeds in a pan until they are warm and fragrant. Do not let them burn. Whisk together all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
2. Add in the cubed butter.
3. Using your fingertips, rub the fat into the dry ingredients until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
4. Add in the egg in to the mixture and use your hands to combine. Add in the cold water and bring the dough together. It should be able to form into a smooth ball. Add a little bit more iced water if your dough still feels dry.
5. Add in the toasted and cooled sesame seeds and combine. Do not overwork the dough.
6. Roll out the sesame cookie dough into logs (approximately 2.5cm in diameter). Cling wrap the logs. Refrigerate for about an hour or overnight.
6. Slice the cookies into 4 mm in thickness. Bake in a 180 degree Celsius oven for about 12-15 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

*Store them in a cool, dry place in an air-tight container after they have cooled completely.

sesame cookies2

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Chinese New Year, Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sesame cookies

  1. Would you consider sharing this at my Pinterest Party this week? We’re celebrating Chinese New Year by sharing recipes. My Pin to Party post explains how to join in the fun!

  2. Sesame sweets are such a delight, and those little seeds do seem perfectly paired with the buttery, crumbly texture of a shortbread cookie. New Year’s or any day, I’d sure love one or two with a cup of tea!

  3. Such a lovely cookie recipe, crumbly and delicious 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  4. pattyabr says:

    what a great recipe! I just discovered black sesame seeds and they are fabulous.

  5. LB says:

    I adore sesame and want to try this recipe! Having never bought black sesame seeds, I’m hoping I’ll have no trouble finding them.

  6. Sesame is one of my favourite flavours and I also love black sesame soup too! I know I’d love these! I hope you’re having a wonderful CNY Jo 😀

Leave a Reply

