Spiced party nuts

spiced party nuts

Here’s a quick and easy recipe for some spiced nuts that would be great for a party and for mindless snacking and endless fun. They are highly addictive and goes very well with beer or cocktails.

I made these for the upcoming Chinese New Year.  With just two weeks to go, have you finished baking  your festive goodies? Will be posting some easy cookie recipe soon.

So stay tuned!

xx,
Jo

Recipe: Spiced party nuts
You can use any nuts for this recipe. I used cashew nuts since I have them. Warning: they are highly addictive!  Keep away if you are on a diet!

Makes a bottle

500g raw nuts (unroasted)
35g unsalted butter, melted
1/2 tsp smoked pimenton
1/2 tsp chilli flakes
2.5 tsp sea salt flakes ( I use Murray River sea salt)
2 tsp dark brown sugar
1 tbsp mixed dried herbs

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees celcius.
2. Roast nuts on a baking sheet for about 12-15 minutes until golden brown.
3. While nuts are roasting, melt butter (in a microwave or over the stove). Mix in the dry ingredients
4. Pour spiced butter over the toasted nuts and combine to coat evenly. Allow the nuts to cool on a cooling rack before storing.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Chinese New Year, Festive, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spiced party nuts

  1. I would love to see your Chinese New Year recipes! My Mother-In-Law is flying in soon so we will be enjoying all manner of Chinese meals while she is here. I can’t wait!
    The spiced nuts look and sound delicious. I fear I would sit down with a little bowl of them and not stop. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us!

    Best,
    Allison

    P.S. I see you’re on Instagram, so I will try to find/follow you!

  2. pattyabr says:

    pimenton is a Spanish paprika? What a yummy snack.

    • Yes it is, Patty. Though the pimenton has a unique smoky flavour that is not found in paprika.

      I bought a tin of pimenton from the Spanish gourmet store at the borough market in London.

  3. LB says:

    I have a recipe that I love but I’m always in the hunt for a new one … for gifts, especially. Not familiar with Pimenton. Will check into it at the local international market

    • Yeah they will be great as gifts! I intend to give a few jars away this Chinese New Year.

      It’s Spanish paprika that has a smoky flavour. You can buy sweet or spicy pimenton. Hope you manage to spot it when you head to the market next time.

  4. Hehe we’re still in party season here. I guess the summer and the long weekend and Chinese NY coming up means that even though we’re back at work, we can’t wait til the weekend. These would be perfect for gatherings!

  5. Ahhh… I was looking for this recipe at Christmas! So I’m pinning it now, love the flavors in these:)xx

Leave a Reply

