Florentines

Florentines cover

I seem to have never-ending stash of nuts and dried fruits (not that I’m complaining). They usually end up in my homemade granola. On this particular day, I felt like I deserved something more treat-worthy, and so I turned to florentines.

cacao nibs and nuts

Somehow florentines straddles between a healthy snack and indulgent sweet. The way I prefer to see it is that it falls in the rare category of being both deliciously satisfying and  but  nutritiously wholesome. Let’s put it simply – it has almost the same ingredients as a granola bar but with a little more glucose n butter.

The origins of Florentines have been rather vague. Even though its name may imply that it is from Florence, it has been debated that it was first invented in the palace of Versailles in Paris specially for the royalties of Florence.

While I cannot be certain where these lovely biscuits first originated, I can be absolultely certain that these florentine biscuits taste really scrummy.

baking florentines in moulds

Also, I think that these florentines would make nice little Christmas gifts and they look great even though the effort to make them is minimal.

florentine biscuit

Florentines
Makes about 10 large ones (about 9 cm in diameter)

Don’t be put off by the incredibly long list of ingredients. There’s hardly any work involved in making these biscuits! It’s a good base to work with and you can feel free to replace any of the nuts and dried fruits according to your preference.

A classic florentine recipe would include the use of  flaked almonds and it is often decorated with glace cherries. However, I like to think of a florentine as a blank canvas for you to play with.

Ingredients:
75g unsalted buter
75g sugar
20g honey
25ml 35% fat cream
125g nuts (I used walnuts, hazelnuts and almonds), chopped
45g cornflakes
25g apricots, chopped
15g cranberries
15g cacao nibs
1/2 orange zest
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp fleur de sel

For dipping:
+/- 200g 70% dark couverture chocolate

Method:
1. Place butter, sugar, honey, cream in a sauce pot and cook at medium heat until 116 degree celcius.
2. In a separate bowl mix together all the other ingredients.
3. Pour the boiled cream and sugar mixture over the rest of the ingredients and stir to combine.
4. Spoon over the florentine mixture evenly into greased tin moulds, about 3-4 mm thick (to hold its shape while baking).
5. Bake in a preheated 180 degree celcius oven for about 10 – 12 mins or until golden brown.
6. Allow them to cool, they will continue to harden as they cool, before removing them from the moulds.
7. Temper (see my post on tempering chocolate) some dark chocolate/milk chocolate. Alternatively, you can choose to simply melt chocolate in a bain marie. Dip one side (the smoother side) into the chocolate, using a small palette knife to smoothed off the excess chocolate. Allow it to set slightly before using a jagged toothed comb to create a wave pattern.

*Baking tip:You can choose to bake these florentines without moulds. They will spread but you can cut them with a cookie mould after baking to ensure they have a uniform shape and size.

*Storage tip: Store these florentine biscuits in an air tight container in the refrigerator (unless you are living in a cold climate and the chocolate does not melt).

baked florentines florentines dipped in chocolate

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Florentines

  1. I love Florentines and it’s a great idea to bake them in the mini foil tins – much easier to deal with!

  2. radhika25 says:

    I love Florentines too! I usually just roll them into balls to snack on or to add to a giftbox of chocolate. Baking them in foil cups is such a smart idea!
    Where do you buy cacao nibs in Singapore Jo? And what dark chocolate do you use? I’ve not seen a 70% dark here.

  3. They look wonderful Jo! I love that mixture of fruit, nuts and chocolate – so delicious! 🙂

  4. I’ve never seen such a substantial yet delicate florentine before. Adding dried fruits is a unique approach to add new flavors, and it really does open up a whole new world of possibilities. I can imagine a beautiful rendition of these with cranberries and pistachios- The perfect colors for Christmas. 🙂

  5. Hello, Neat post. There iss a problem together with your site in internet
    explorer, would test this? IE sill is the marketplace chief and a good part of other folks will leav out your magnificent writing due to
    this problem.

  6. LB says:

    I’ve said this before, but I’ll repeat: love your photography! I love your idea of using these for Christmas gifts!

Leave a Reply

