Lemon olive oil cake

lemon olive oil cake cover
As some of you might know, I’ll be heading for a trip to Italy soon. You can be sure that I’m counting down to that.

One of the places that I’ll be visiting is the Amalfi coast. When I think of the Amalfi coast, I think of (those gorgeous) lemons and olive oil.

Before I realised it, this cake sprung up to mind. (My mind connects the dots in the strangest of ways.) Correct me if I’m wrong, I think this lemon olive oil cake is very Italian.

I’ve baked this cake about a dozen times before but have shelved the recipe aside and pretty much forgotten about it.

You know what they say about the joys of rereading ( I  loved this article and it stuck to mind ever since I read it). I am in plenty of ways rediscovering the joy of these humble but comforting recipes.

lemon olive oil bundt cake

As I was baking this lemon olive oil cake, the smell that filled the kitchen air was incredible, almost taunting the senses out of me.

Once it was cool enough to eat, I took a bite into this cake.

“Mmm… it is soooo good!” before I proceeded to finish the entire slice. This cake is soft and really moist. The flavour of lemon and olive oil complements each other; you can taste both flavours , neither takes precedence.

Only tasting it made me realise the thing that has been missing on my breakfast table for months.

Lemon olive oil cake
Makes a 7.5 inch bundt cake plus a few extra cupcakes
Recipe adapted from the Gourmet Traveller Australia

This is a very easy recipe that works incredibly well. It is the perfect breakfast cake. I like to believe that it is pretty “healthy’ as it does not contains butter and uses reduced sugar. I usually have extra cake batter that I would use to a few extra cupcakes. 

Ingredients:
170g eggs, room temperature
275g granulated sugar
200ml full cream milk
70ml lemon juice (from approximately 2 lemons)
grated lemon rind from 2 – 3lemons
180ml pure olive oil
40ml extra virgin olive oil (a fruity flavoured one)
300g plain flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

*To taste the olive oil flavour in the cake, it is important to use a extra virgin olive oil with a fruity flavour. The reason why I used two types is to get the flavour in without having to pay too much. You can opt to use 220ml of  the olive oil you prefer.  

Method:
1. Whisk the eggs and sugar until thick and pale at medium speed for about 3-4 minutes.
2. Add in the sifted dry ingredients alternating with the wet ingredients (liquid). Do not overmix it.
3. Bake in a loaf tin and cupcake tins at 180 degree celcius until golden brown, and the top springs back to touch. The cupcakes will be done in about 25 minutes while the bundt cake will be done in about 50 minutes.
4. Serve with dusted icing (confectioners) sugar.

*Storage tip: This cake keeps well at room temperature in an air tight container. You should finish it within a week.

lemon olive oil cake slice

lemon olive oil cake 2

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Cakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Lemon olive oil cake

  1. radhika25 says:

    Inviting myself over, for a piece of that cake! Looks wonderful.
    I’ve just come back from a holiday in Italy and Greece, and I envy you 🙂

  2. Looks so lovely and moist and full of lemony-tang!

  3. Have a wonderful time in Italy Jo! Will you blog about it? I love visiting there so much 😀 And this cake has so much going for it to love!

  4. Yum! It looks so moist and delicious, what a fab cake!

  5. That soft, golden crumb is positively dreamy, much like the promise of your upcoming vacation. What a perfect ode to the expedition!

  6. pattyabr says:

    It looks so moist and heavenly. I love lemon and would never had thought to pair it with olive oil. Bravo!

  7. There is a definite Italian flare to this cake! So pretty and you’ll see when in Amalfi.. lemons are everywhere! Especially limoncello (which we bought) and some lemon candies (also bought)! Oh my gosh, the olive oil.. the tomatoes! You’ll love it!!

  8. Olive oil cakes are some of my favorites to make and share, and this one looks particularly moist and delicious. I hope you have a wonderful time on your trip. I’m jealous! I can’t wait to visit Italy again.

  9. Moist and delicious lemon cake, I need to devour it 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  10. Pingback: Pierre Hermé’s olive oil and vanilla macaron (macaron a l’hhuile d’ olive et vanille) |

  11. Jessica Yeo says:

    It sounds delicious! Do you think it’ll be possible to use a 10inch bundt tin instead of a small bundt + cupcakes?

    • You may need to make a little more batter as the the bundt tin I used was 7.5 inch, even without the cupcakes, it might not fill the tin. You need to fill it about 3/4 way and before you bake it. Also you will also need to adjust the baking time ( it would take a longer time) but of course, it is absolutely possible.

      I apologise, I have not baked this in a 10 inch bundt tin so I can’t say how much more batter is needed.

      • Jessica Yeo says:

        I’ll see if i can find a smaller bundt tin then, or maybe attempt it in a loaf pan (: Thanks for replying, appreciate it!

  12. Pingback: Orange chiffon cake | Jo the tart queen

  13. juliawands says:

    I have just made this cake. It is light, lemony and absolutely delicious. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

