The perfect breakfast: French toast

french toast

I can’t think of a better and more decadent breakfast than French toast.

It is happy food especially when served with caramelised bananas and a good drizzle of maple syrup. It’s my kind of breakfast heaven.

If you ask me to pick, I would most likely go with a sweet breakfast item like pancakes and French toast over the savoury ones that comes with eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatoes.

I’m leaving you with my recipe for French toast. I wouldn’t exactly call it a recipe because it’s so easy and it’s just the throwing together of a few ingredients.

I think that a proper one should be done with a sweet dense bread like brioche or challah, thickly sliced. I find that French toast needs some soaking time especially when using such breads, not just quick dipping. Also, I like to finish off the French toast by a caramelised top for that added delightful caramel crunchiness.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Hope you’ll have a happy breakfast today.

Recipe: Caramelised French toast with macerated strawberries and caramelised bananas
Serves 4

This is one time where I don’t measure my ingredients too precisely. It is fuss free and a good way to use up your stale loaves of bread.

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1 cup milk
3 tbsp granulated sugar
a loaf (stale) dense and sweet bread like brioche or challah
caster sugar for caramelising

Method:
1. Place bread loaf in the freezer for 5 min to firm up before slicing into 1 inch thick slices.

2. Whisk together the eggs, milk, sugar until well incorporated. Soak bread slices into the egg mixture for about 15 minutes (or until entirely soaked through).

3. Place a heavy (for even heat distribution) frying pan over medium-high heat. Add a little olive oil and a cube of butter. Place french toast and saute until golden brown then turn and do the same for the other side. Transfer to parchment lined tray and keep in the oven until needed.

4. Sprinkle a thin layer of caster sugar on the top of the french toast. Use a blow torch to caramelise the sugar. If you don’t have a blow torch, you can place it on a baking tray until in the oven under a hot grill.

5. Slice the bananas and spoon a thin layer of caster sugar on them and blowtorch them just before serving. Do it one or two slices at the time because the sugar will dissolve into the banana quite quickly if you don’t blowtorch them immediately.

6. Macerate strawberries by slicing them up and adding a two or three spoonsful of sugar, and a dash of grand marnier, if you like. Leave them to sit in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The perfect breakfast: French toast

  1. pattyabr says:

    ooh I was going to make carmelized bananas. what a great idea to have them for breakfast with French Toast. Lovely pics. Happy Weekend.

  2. radhika25 says:

    This used to be my favourite breakfast, through childhood 🙂

    • I ate it during my childhood too..was kind of an indulgence for the weekend. but I used to have french toast made with gardenia bread. then I discovered how the brioche version is just so much better! 🙂

  3. I love big breakfasts and french toast with with carmalized bananas just has to take this dish over the top. Happy Cooking! BAM

  4. Thanks Bam! Love to indulge in big breakfasts too.. it just starts off your day on a good note!

  5. I need to indulge in this breakfast, brilliant 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Oooh you’ve hit it right on the head Jo! It’s all about the caramelisation and I can see this has superb caramelisation in all areas!! 😀

  7. Pingback: Recipes & Cookbooks Links | My Weblog

Leave a Reply

