Chocolate frangipane plum tart

chocolate frangipane plum tart

* This is a scheduled post as I’m away in Sri Lanka for holidays. I promise to be back with plenty of stories. In the meantime, enjoy this chocolate frangipane plum tart for me. I will probably be missing my tarts and such and have to make do thoasei, dhal curries and cooconut milk desserts.

***

I have a more than unusual love for tarts, especially tarte aux fruits or fruit tarts.

Well, it is certainly much too indulgent to be having creme patisserie/custard everyday. I would if I could.

Frangipane tarts. on the other hand, seem more like the everyday tart; you know the kind that you can have everyday and not feel overly guilty.

While a fruit tart would always steal my heart, a frangipane tart would always makes my day better, brighter.

Since we have been starting to find plums in the market, I decided to put them to good use. You can, of course, choose to use any other stone fruits like nectarines, peaches, whatever pleases you.

Plums

If you are thinking of a dessert to make this weekend, why not try this out?
chocolate frangipane plum tart2
Recipe: Chocolate frangipane plum tarts
Makes one large 23cm round tart or about 10 (8cm in diameter) round tartlets

Chocolate sweet pastry

Ingredients:
125g butter, room temperature, cubed
150g plain flour
30g ground almonds
30g cocoa powder
60g icing sugar
pinch of salt
30g egg yolk
1-2 tbsp iced water, add only if necessary, until dough comes together

Method:

1. Rub in method: Place dry ingredients into a mixer bowl and whisk until uniform. Rub in the cubed butter until mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Alternatively, you can use a food processor.

2. Add in egg yolk and use hands to knead dough until it comes together, into a smooth ball. Add iced water if mixture still feels too dry. Try not to overwork the dough.
3. Shape into a flat disc, cling wrap it and place in the fridge to rest for at least 30 minutes. In the meantime, you can prepare the almond frangipane filling.

4. Preheat oven to 200°C. Roll pastry on a lightly floured surface to a 3mm-thick disc.  Using a cookie cutter/paring knife, cut pastry to size and line the tart tins (big or small). Trim off the overhanging edges with a paring knife. Allow the pastry to rest for another 10-15 minutes.

5. To blind-bake: line the pastry with baking paper and fill with uncooked rice, dried beans, or metal or ceramic baking weights. This stops the pastry base rising during cooking. Bake for about 10- 12 minutes. Remove the weights and bake for another 5-7 minutes (depending on the size of the tarts) until pastry is dry and cooked through.

6. Allow tart shells to cool completely before filling with frangipane.

You can find my almond frangipane filling recipe in the link here. You can replace almond meal with hazelnut meal if it pleases you.  It would taste just as great! You can do this ahead, cling wrap and store it in the fridge, while you are baking the tarts.

To assemble:

1. Pre-heat oven to 175°C. Cut the plums into slices (or as you like). Fill the cooled tart shells with your frangipane filling. Do not overfill it as the frangipane mixture will rise a little during baking.

2. Place sliced plums neatly on top of the frangipane filling. Bake the tarts for about 20 minutes.

3. Allow tarts to cool before serving. You can decorated with silvered or chopped toasted almonds or dust the tarts with icing sugar. Enjoy!

frangipane tarts

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chocolate frangipane plum tart

  1. Preveena says:

    Enjoy your holidays! The tart looks delicious. Love the colours.

  2. Happy Holiday to you and have a safe trip. I know that others may not realize this but stone fruits and chocolate do go great together. I know that it might not be the first thing that comes to your mind but it really is nice. I love these adorable little single serving tarts.

    • Thanks bam! I’m back from my trip and had a wonderful time!

      I totally agree with you that stone fruits and chocolate are great together! and there has been too little attention being paid to them.

  3. Aoife.D says:

    I can never pass a frangipane tart! These look yum!

  4. Looks lovely and looking forward to hearing about Sri Lanka

  5. These tarts look absolutely gorgeous 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Pingback: The Art of the Tart by Tamasin Day-Lewis: review | My Custard Pie

  7. They’re beeyootiful Jo! I love fruit tarts but hubby loves them even more! I’d have to cover the screen if he walked past these 😛 Hope you’re having a great time in Sri Lanka!

  8. Your tarts sound delicious and look totally gorgeous!

  9. Beautiful, and so comforting! I’ve made pies and tarts so frequently that these seem familiar already. I can easily imagine just how good they’d taste.

  10. Pingback: Almond, Pecan & Sour Cherry Danish | James's Recipes

  11. These look delicious! Also I wanted to let you know I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blog Award 🙂 Stacie

  12. Carole says:

    Carole’s Chatter is collecting links using plums today. This is a nice one. I do hope you pop over and link in. This is the link . Cheers

  13. Carole says:

    Jo, thanks for stopping by and adding this to the collection. I do hope to see you again soon. Cheers

Leave a Reply

