Homemade granola

I’m a breakfast sort of girl. It is probably the one meal that I cannot go without.

While Sunday breakfasts tend to be fancy and indulgent, with the likes of pancakes and berries compote, eggs benedict, and baked Spanish eggs with chorizo, my everyday breakfasts are mostly simple affairs. I’m contented with toasted bread with butter, cereal with milk or yogurt with granola.

Yogurt with granola is my latest love affair especially ever since I was let in on to the pleasures of homemade granola.

I am a latecomer to homemade granola.  But I’m just glad that I’m finally on the bandwagon and I can appreciate the fuss that people make over their homemade versions.

It’s almost like being let loose into a whole new world of granola goodness. I’m devouring every bite insatiably. Upon this discovery, I’ve made and eaten four batches of my own granola, tinkling with its formula here and there each time

Before this, I got my granola fix from the supermarket. On hindsight, I wonder why I liked those commercial types so much, they are redolent of sugar and sweeteners anyway.

The best part about making granola is that there is no precision needed; there is no fixed recipe for it. It’s probably one of the few things in baking that you can add/substitute/take away as you wish.

My favourite way of eating the granola is with a bowl of homemade Greek yogurt (refer to my previous post for its recipe) with a drizzle of honey or even a spoonful of berry jam. This is such a wholesome and delicious breakfast; the kind that helps kick-start your day.

If breakfasts ain’t your thing, granola would make a wonderfully satisfying and healthy afternoon snack.

Still, you have to try this for yourself to believe. That is, if you haven’t been formally introduced to this new world yet. If you have, you would then forgive me for going wax lyrical about a simple thing like granola and breakfasts.

xx,
Jo
Recipe: Homemade granola
Makes about 750g of granola

I was a little hesitant in adding a recipe for this as there really isn’t one. I’m writing down the one that I like to use just for your reference. This is one recipe that I use measuring cups an spoons instead of a kitchen scale. I’ve also included a couple of links to inspire you, just as they have inspired me.

Ingredients:

3 cups of rolled oats
1 cup almonds, untoasted
1/2 cup hazelnuts, untoasted
1/2 cup pecans, untoasted
1/2 flax seeds
sprinkling of sesame seeds
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup grapeseed oil
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup dried apricots, chopped
1/4 cup dried golden raisins
1/4 cup dried figs, chopped

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 170 degrees celcius. Line your baking tray with baking parchment

2. In a large bowl, add in the rolled oats, seeds and nuts. Then add in the salt, and spices. Give it a good mix through before adding your vanilla extract, oil and honey.

3. Pour this mix and spread them onto your baking tray and bake for about 40 minutes. Be careful not to let your granola burn especially the nuts. Toss it twice mid-way through.

4. Bake the granola till golden brown and dry. Let the granola cool before adding the dried fruits or the fruits would become very hard. Store the cooled granola in an air-tight container. It keeps for about 3-4 weeks.

Now for some granola inspiration to get you started…

The kitchn: How to make great granola every time
Great tips and a base recipe from granola entrepreneur, Megan Gordon

Pierre Hermé and his granola Ispahan
Isaphan takes the form of a granola: Oats, sunflower seeds, grated coconut, rose, dried raspberries and lychees

justasmidgn: J’aime granola
Barbara shares a few of her new favourites: chocolate cherry coconut, brown butter pecan and apple cinnamon crisp granola

Sinsationcakes: DIY granola
How about some goji berries and peanut butter in your granola?

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Pantry, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homemade granola

  1. radhika25 says:

    Mmmmmm….I can almost smell that granola!

  2. thehungrymum says:

    I love home made granola- so crunchy and full of flavour. Might make this for breakie tomorrow.

  3. Hi! Thanks for the mention! I love your granola recipe, all those nuts and apricots!! It’s great to have new granola inspiration! xx

  4. Your granola looks mouthwatering my friend, great job 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. I completely agree with everything you’ve said about granola. I too am just starting to make it at home and honestly, I would never have thought to eat it before. And I too love it with Greek yogurt and either fresh banana or blueberries. YUM! Oh, and I love sneaking a handful after supper when I’m craving something sweet. Delish!

  6. Pingback: Walnut tarts | jothetartqueen

  7. Pingback: Florentines |

Leave a Reply

