Dark chocolate sorbet

I’ve been in a sorbet phase for the past couple of weeks. Made this intensely dark and rich chocolate sorbet, a huge contrast to the light and refreshing kiwi sorbet.

I know that you will probably not believe me when I describe this sorbet to be intense, dark and rich. How can a sorbet be?

I didn’t believe myself until I took the first bite. You won’t get the creaminess that you get with ice-cream but with a good cocoa powder and dark couverture chocolate, this sorbet is even better than a whole lot of chocolate ice-creams that you buy commercially.

Dark, intense, and very sexy.

I have been happily indulging in the sorbet that alas, I forgot to try it with my DOP olive oil from Italy. I have had dark chocolate ice-creams with olive oil before and the combination is magical. From my experience, it’s best with olive oils (use the best that you can afford) with fruity flavours. You can even add a dash of fleur de sel or sea-salt. Don’t just take my word for it – try it even though it may sound bizarre. Only then will you understand how the olive oil transform the dark chocolate ice cream making it smoother, richer.

I shall leave you with that thought while I attempt to convince myself that I need a self-freezing ice-cream machine.

x,
Jo

Recipe: Dark Chocolate Sorbet
Adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz
Makes 500ml

I really like how this chocolate sorbet taste. It’s unbelievably rich, decadent sans calories. What more can a girl ask for?

Ingredients:

280ml water
100g sugar
38g dutch-processed cocoa powder ( I use varlhona cocoa powder)
pinch of salt
85g dark chocolate, chopped
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

1. Whisk together 210ml of water with sugar, cocoa and salt in a large pot. Bring to a boil, whisking frequently.The mixture will bubble up when it boils so don’t be like me and be smart, use a big enough pot.

2. Remove from heat and stir in the chocolate until it is melted, then stir in the vanilla extract and the remaining 70ml of water.

3. Transfer this mixture into a blender and blend for 15 seconds. Chill the mixture in the fridge for a few hours before freezing it in your ice cream maker, according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dark chocolate sorbet

  1. I’ve never heard of serving olive oil with ice cream. Must try it!

  2. pattyabr says:

    This looks awesome. I got an ice cream maker for Christmas and this will be the next recipe to make.

  3. Your sorbet looks great. I love the simplicity of the recipe!

  4. eleanor says:

    yum! must try a sorbet in my ice cream maker!

  5. Maureen says:

    I have a self-freezing machine plus a kitchenaid one that you toss in the freezer so you come over and make the ice cream and we’ll share it, okay? This looks amazing!

    • Gosh I wish I stay near you! I want that self-freezing machine! which one are you currently using and how do you like it compared to the kitchenaid one? =) Just saw your post on chocolate ice-cream in soda! how wonderful!

  6. That is it!!! I have to stop reading your posts when I am hungry. Heading to fridge to forage for something cold and chocolate. BAM

  7. It was so hot today that I would sold something precious for a scoop of this Jo! 🙂

  8. How luscious! It looks perfectly smooth and rich, just the way a proper chocolate sorbet should be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

