Let me have my cake (walnuts) and eat it (them) too!

Just received these roasted Chinese walnuts from a friend in China. I was ecstatic!

One thing you should know about me: I love nuts (of all kinds, except peanuts).

These roasted Chinese walnuts are truly exceptional – the roasted, toasty flavours are incredible and apparent even as you start cracking the nuts.

My only problem with them? – They are tough nuts to crack. These are frustrating because I take a good ten times longer to crack them than to eat them. No kidding!

I was about to relinquish the bowl of walnuts to a more willing party when I turned and saw J walking into the living room unwittingly. Coincidentally, he was wearing the new Superman T-shirt I got him. I had my answer.

J certainly had more dexterity in cracking walnuts than me – he made it into an experiment where he attempted to find out the best way of cracking them and hulling them. Well, it certainly works for the two of us – one having fun cracking, one having fun eating.

This must be one of the few times that I can have my cake and eat it too (well, in this case nuts). I’m savouring it!

xx,
Jo

p.s thank you J, my very own Superman!

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Food, Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let me have my cake (walnuts) and eat it (them) too!

  1. They sound wonderful! And they remind me of macadamias-so hard to crack but worth it in the end! 😀

  2. they are! Still have half a pack of them left. good thing.
    and I love macadamias too!

  3. I can’t say I’ve ever had Chinese walnuts, but now I want to seek them out. Sounds like they’d be worth the extra effort of cracking!

  4. yeah if you do see them, you should get your hands on some.
    they are smaller than the usual walnuts..and have a kind of roasted flavour to them

Leave a Reply

