2012 Kitchen wishlist

2012 Kitchen wishlist

After much pondering about my New Year resolutions, I decided to get on to the fun bit – to think of my kitchen wishlist for 2012.

Here’s my shortlist:
(Indulge me, please.)

From clockwise
1. Peugeut Salt mill: I need to replace my salt mill because I had somehow managed to spoil it. I’m not sure how. I hear that these Puegeot mills are great and the mechanism isn’t plastic, certainly sounds more sturdy than the one I used to have.

I read that Peugeot Salt mills have a stainless steel (chronium and nickel) grinding mechanism . These two elements create a protective layer that is highly resistant to corrosion and rust, which makes it ideal for grinding salt. Anyone has any experience with Peugeot mills to share? I’ll be delighted to hear from you!

2. Cute cupcake paper cases: I want to buy a wide variety of cupcake paper cases. I know it is the cupcake that truly matters, but I think a matching paper case can elevate a cupcake from good to great!

3. A vacuum food sealer: I have been wanting to get one of these for ages. I think it will be a keeper in my kitchen; in the face of humidity in Singapore, food or ingredients spoil or goes stale more easily. I’m going to use this to seal my nuts…the fresh cheeses that I buy…coffee beans and the list goes on…

4. Constant supply of moist and plump Madagascar vanilla beans: They make the simplest of desserts taste decadent and gives it a little posh-nosh factor. Think: vanilla cookies or vanilla creme Chantilly.

5. Fresh herbs in the garden: I now have rosemary, mint, Thai basil and thyme. Hopefully by the end of the year, I’ll be able to grow and maintain other herbs like sweet basil, tarragon, and sage. Seriously, nothing beats freshly picked herbs from your garden to your plate.

6. Hario woodneck drip brewer: 2012 is the year that I start getting serious about my coffee. Having recently discovered the beauty of a single-origin brew, I’ve decided to dedicate some part of my time in understanding and appreciating how to make a good brew. Let’s go back to black.

7. Le Creuset cast iron round French oven: This is the one pot that I have yet to add to my kitchen wares; I lack a completely ovenproof pot and this fits the bill. I’ve been eyeing this for quite a long time now (and trying to justify its price tag). This cast iron French oven (some may call it the Dutch oven) is highly versatile and it is essential to a good pot roast or braise/stew.   This Le Creuset French oven is heavy enough for even cooking, has a protective enamel layer that is non-reactive with acidic ingredients, can be heated to a very high temperature and looks handsome enough to be used as a serving dish! Need I say more?

8. Blowtorch: Hope to buy a new one as my current one is slightly wonky. A must-have to torch up some Italian meringue or crème brûlée.

9. Cuisinart ICE-50BC supreme ice-cream maker: A cool gadget to have in the kitchen – this compact ice-cream maker has a built-in commercial-style compressor freezer so pre-freezing is not required! With this, I can make ice-cream any time I want to and have it an hour later! Ice cream can make the gloomiest day brighter, don’t you agree?

How about you? Is there any cool kitchen gadget you would like to get your hands on? Love to  hear from you!

Jo

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2012 Kitchen wishlist

  1. pattyabr says:

    nice list.
    For Christmas I got a much cheaper version of Cuisinart Ice cream maker and so far it is pretty cool. Jealous about your cool much upgraded version. I also got an immersion blender which is way cool.
    I too would like the Le Crueset cast iron Dutch oven. That would be awesome.

    • oh cool! what ice-cream have you made with your Cuisinart ice cream maker?

      I have a Philips ice cream maker but it’s the type where you need to freeze the freezer bowl a day before using. It didn’t work too well for me. I think it’s the warm weather in Singapore – the bowl gets warm too quickly even after pre-freezing and the ice-cream is not able to churn and chilled fast enough. Hopefully, I will be able to save up for a new machine soon!

      Yeah the Le Cruset cast iron dutch oven is super awesome right? Really expensive though!

  2. This is a great list Jo! And I get very excited by cupcake liners-as you say it is about the cupcake itself but it doesn’t hurt if they look cute too! 😛

    • Thanks Lorraine! =D I love your blog btw. Your blog has been my guide to good and new restaurants in Sydney and Australia during the period I was there for my Le Cordon Bleu course.

  3. Sounds like something I can definitely help with… Let’s start with the woodneck! 😀

  4. You have been awarded the 7 x 7 Award – Congratulations! Find out more at http://theemeraldgarden.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/7-x-7-award/

  5. Love this post, it inspired me to create my own kitchen wishlist too, may i steal the idea? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

