Smells like Christmas: Rosemary sablés

December draws the year to a close on a sweet note.

Christmas is a season that presents you a golden ticket into a Willy Wonka-like world of delectable treats; new and imaginative flavours of Bûche de Noël, milk chocolate pralines and peppermint ganache .

I intended to bake something conventionally Christmas-y; instead, I decided to go with something savoury-sweet. Even for someone with a sweet tooth, I  have conceded to sugar and chocolate overload during this festive season.

With these sablés, I was able to counter my O.D. on sugar by disguising them with a light touch of rosemary.

The sablés took on a whole new flavour from the rosemary – pine-like, woody and very savoury. I like them very much; they crumble away like sand and taste like Christmas. Why Christmas? You may ask. Well, rosemary makes me think of pine trees, fireplace, and warmth – the stuff Christmas is made of.

These are definitely going into my repertoire for Christmas baking. After all, they do smell of Christmas.

xx

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Festive, Savoury and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Smells like Christmas: Rosemary sablés

  1. grace says:

    me loves. 😉

  2. pattyabr says:

    Your pictures are fabulous. These cookies are very intriguing. You need a cookie exchange to share your beautiful baked goods. Cool blog.

  3. I want to try baking it. Where can I find the recipe?

  4. Oops I did not post up my recipe.

    Here you go:

    Rosemary sables
    Makes about 30 – 40 sables

    200g plain flour
    100g caster sugar
    140g unsalted butter, cubed
    2 pinches of salt
    30g egg, lightly whisked
    2 tbsp rosemary, fresh, chopped finely
    fleur de sel/sea salt, optional

    egg wash, optional ( I used a mixture an egg yolk with a dash of milk)

    1. Chill plain flour and salt in the freezer for 5 minutes while you measure out your other ingredients. Rub butter with flour, until fine crumbs stage.
    2. Add in sugar and egg until dough combines. Do not overwork the dough. If you choose to use a food processor or mixer, do so at low speed, and stop mixing when the dough comes together.
    3. Roll out your dough into a log in a cling wrap and refrigerate for about 1-2hrs.
    4. Using a chef’s knife, cut the log into 1 cm thick rounds (not too thick because it spreads during baking). Space out the sables (about 1 inch) on your baking tray lined with baking paper.
    5. You can opt to sprinkle a little fleur de sel or sea salt on each of the sable if you wish. Brush the sables with egg wash, be careful not to let the egg wash drip onto the baking paper or it will burn.
    6. Bake at 180 degree celcius for about 15 – 20 minutes or until sables are golden brown.
    7. Allow them to cool on a wire rack before serving. Enjoy!

    Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

