Sunday: Creation and possibilities

Making tiramisu

There are just some weekends where you feel like staying in instead of braving the crowds at the shopping mall, at the cinemas, or even at your favourite restaurant.Some days are made for lying in bed with a book in hand; this particular Sunday just wasn’t one of those days.

Instead, it was a day of creation and possibilities

Creating food with your  hands. Experimenting.
And then revelling in the fruits of your labour.
In short, that was my Sunday.

***

We started off by rewarding ourselves with tiramisu that I had made the day earlier. To reward yourself before any work is completed is ‘wrong’ on so many counts but I’ll just make this an exception ( I suppose).

Tiramisu is a traditional ‘pick me up’  and I like mine to give me a real ‘kick’. I soaked the lady fingers in espresso – intense, but that’s how it should be. I like how that espresso filled sponge contrasts with the luscious and indulgent mascarpone filling laced with a good douse of tia maria. That’s a reason why I don’t order tiramisu when I’m out – I like mine with intense espresso and extra tia maria/kahlua.

With that caffeine boost, we started chopping and preparing the ingredient’s for the night’s dinner. J is especially pedantic when it comes to the cutting and chopping so I left him to chop up a pot full of vegetables (Carrots, zucchini, aubergines, onions) for the minestrone. He did such a great job, I don’t believe I could do any better.

I must admit that I didn’t intend to make desserts but with the extra time and eggwhites on hand,  I thought that I might as well give meringues a go.

By the end of the evening, the meringues lent themselves to an easily thrown together dessert – Eton mess. I first had eton mess when I was in Sydney and I really enjoyed the traditional English dessert – light, simple and its flavours and textures in harmony. Tell me how wrong can strawberries and chantilly cream get?

The dry rub for the steaks was inspired by an episode of MasterChef Australia. It looked so good on tv and we wanted to see if it was so.

We threw together garlic and onions into a food processor and then added fresh herbs and crushed black peppercorns to the mix. Once the rub mixture was ready, we knew that we couldn’t go too wrong with the steaks (As long as we don’t overcook them) – the mixture packed so much punch! The rib-eye steaks were then marinated with the rub for 3 hours in the fridge before grilling them on 1.5 minutes on each side.

This particular Sunday was our day. The steaks were cooked to la perfection – Medium, Medium-rare. On our bad days, we tend to overcook our steaks! The marinade gave the ribe-eye caramelisation on its surface and such lovely flavours! We couldn’t be more pleased with the results! le résultat est très délicieux!

Dinner couldn’t be better while we sat back to unwind with a glass or two of a Piedmont Barolo. Especially after a couple of hours in the kitchen, it was très super!

Love,

Jo

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
Aside | This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Dairy, Desserts, Savoury and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

