Tarte au Chocolat

My declaration of love to the chocolate tart –

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height my soul can reach.
I love thee for never failing me, even in the darkest nights.
I love thee for bringing me maximum joy – always.
I love thee so much that even on a diet, I’ll reach for thee.
I love thee so much that I want to shout it out to the world yet,
I rather love thee in quiet ways; so that I can have all of thee to myself.

***

I can give up other desserts but not this one. My obsession for chocolate runs so deep that I don’t bother fighting my chocolate cravings anymore. The tarte au chocolat is one of my favourite chocolate indulgences – it’s not overly rich as it is balanced with a buttery, crumbly biscuit. It is rich, smooth, luscious and a bite alone can jetset you to chocolate heaven!

Chocolate ganache is really easy to make. You have to start with the best quality of chocolates that you can afford as the ganache is primarily made from two key  ingredients, chocolate and cream, you can be sure that what you use will greatly affect the end product.

To prepare a basic ganache you need to bring your cream ( I use cream that contains 33-35% fat) to a solid boil (i.e till the cream is bubbling furiously). Pour the boiling cream over equal parts of chopped chocolate courverture. Stir gently to emulsify the cream and chocolate mixture. Add in a knob of butter at the end – that will give you a nice shine to your ganache.

For this tart, I’ve chosen to make a passion fruit milk chocolate ganache. Milk chocolate ganache is classic for a tart au chocolat and it is lovely and appreciated for its simple beauty. However, the pairing of passion fruit and milk chocolate is a match made in heaven just as strawberries and cream, rosemary and chicken, sea salt and caramel, you get what I mean.

Passion fruit is like a pair of glittery earrings that brightens up that classic little black dress. The tangy burst of flavour from the passion fruit cuts through the sweet, velvety milk chocolate – the passion fruit lifts the good ole’ milk chocolate into the next dimension. That extra touch makes the ganache a whole lot sexier.

Now that I’m done, let me take a bite into my tart and count the ways I love it.

Passion Fruit Milk Chocolate Ganache Tarts
Makes 4 medium tartlettes, 12 small tarts

Tart base

You can choose to use a pate sucree (sweet tart dough) or a shortcrust pastry for a flakier, less sweet alternative (I used the shortcrust pastry for this version).

Passionfruit milk chocolate ganache

120g strained passion fruit pulp (from about 4 passion fruits)
250g milk chocolate couverture, chopped
35g butter, at room temperature
100g double cream, at room temperature

Method:

1. Bring the passion fruit pulp and cream to a solid boil.

2. Pour cream and passion fruit pulp mixture over the chopped chocolate. Stir the mixture with a spatula to emulsify.

3. Add in knob of butter and stir until it is melted.

4. Pour chocolate ganache mixture over the tarts and chill in the refrigerator until set.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tarte au Chocolat

  1. radhika25 says:

    This sounds perfect! I’ve never paired chocolate and passion fruit before. Thanks for the new insight 🙂
    r

Leave a Reply

