Oatmeal Raisin Cookies – Simple Pleasures on a Rainy Day

The dark clouds form an ominous cover over the city; the heavens start their non-stop weeping. On gloomy days like this, all you want is to snuggle up in bed and not do anything at all – or, how about making something really easy but comforting to cheer yourself up?

I’m glad I chose the latter; and right now, I’m sitting by my bayside window, biting into these chewy sunshine goodness, drinking a little black tea, and watching the world go by. The afternoon doesn’t seem that gloomy after all.

These oatmeal raisin cookies are really effortless (take my word for it) and they are my guilt-free indulgence because the oats in them makes these seem a little less sinful for me (or so I try to convince myself). They take less than a hour to whip up, including their baking time which leaves you a lot more time in the afternoon to savour them, along with a good book.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Makes 25 cookies

150g butter, cut into cubes, room temperature
180g brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg, room temperature
150g plain flour, sifted
100g rolled oats
120g raisins
a pinch of salt

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celcius and line tray with baking parchment
  2. Beat butter and sugar with a paddle attachment until thick and pale
  3. Add in vanilla and egg and continue to beat until incorporated.
  4. Add in sifted flour, baking powder and salt and beat slowly until all the ingredients are combined.
  5. Stir in oats and raisins.
  6. Using your hand, roll a tablespoon of the batter and line it up on your baking tray. Ensure that you leave sufficient room between the cookies as they will expand. Flattened the rounded batter with a floured fork for a simple pattern.
  7. Bake the cookies for about 15 minutes, or until golden brown.
  8. Cool on tray for 5 minutes before removing to the wire rack

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

