Frangipane tarts: Macerated strawberries frangipane tart + grapefruit & orange frangipane tart

I must admit that the reason that drew me to this tart was partly because of a recent frangipane that I had at Tiong Bahru Bakery. For my readers who are not living in Singapore, this is a fairly new bakery by Gontran Cherrier, a Parisian artisan boulanger.

I was very disappointed with the products that they have on display – they just didn’t look the way they should. The crossiants were pale and lack colour, the laminations were not spectacular either . They also had a range of simple tarts and I was drawn to grapefruit and orange frangipane tart because I have not had grapefruit and orange on a frangipane tart before. However, the tart failed to deliver in two important aspects – colour wise, its tart shell was not “French brown” as my chefs in Le Cordon Bleu would have liked; taste wise, it wasn’t crumbly and “short”. Disappointments aside, it gave me the impetus to bake a (better) frangipane tart.

I started off with my favourite pâte sablé recipe but replaced the zest of a lemon with zest of a grapefruit instead (I got this tip from a friend. Grapefruit zest gives it a more pronounced flavour as compared to lemon zest.). This pâte sablé recipe produces a wonderfully buttery and crumbly tart base and it’s a rather easy dough to work with.

Since I was able to line quite a couple of tart shells, I decided to do one half with fresh grapefruit and orange segments and the other half with macerated strawberries. I love strawberries and this time I decided to do as little as possible to draw out its flavours yet not do too much that would spoil the integrity of the fruit. I also like how maceration makes the strawberries look glossy, shiny and inviting. I think this article from Saveur magazine explains maceration and how it works well. I especially like this quote – maceration helps “the fruit becomes a greater version of itself”.

I think I’ll be making these tarts a lot more often. What draws me to them is the vivid and bright colours – how visually appealing, don’t you think? Taste-wise, they are close to perfection as well. Crumbly tart bases…moist almond frangipane…and the burst of fresh fruits.

I don’t know about you, but I believe that I would be more than happy to have this every weekend!

x,
Jo

P.S have a lovely weekend!

Recipe: Frangipane tarts

Pâte sucrée (Sweet tart dough):

Please refer to my previous post for the recipe. As mentioned earlier in the post, you can replace lemon zest with grapefruit zest in the dough.

Do *blind-bake the tarts (with baking beans or uncooked rice/beans) at 180 degrees for about 15 minutes until cooked through and slightly golden.

*Blind-baking refers to the partial cooking for tart bases. It seals the surface of the tart bases and thus preventing the bases from becoming soggy. 

Frangipane filling
Recipe from Le Cordon Bleu

This recipe fills one 14-inch long rectangular tart mould and two 4.5 inch long rectangular tart moulds. You can use this filling with macerated strawberries and citrus fruits like I did or how about trying it with plums, apples, figs or pears?

Ingredients:

100g unsalted butter, cubed, room temperature
100g caster sugar
125g eggs
100g ground almonds/almond meal
44g plain flour

optional: 1 tbsp grand marnier

Method:

1. Cream the butter and sugar together using the paddle attachment – until pale and light.

2. Gradually add in eggs, and continue to mix until well incorporated.

3. Lastly add in the dry ingredients and mix at low speed until well incorporated. Add in grand marnier at this point, if you wish.

4. Fill the pre-baked tarts with the frangipane filling. Use a small palette knife to spread it smoothly. Do not overfill it as the frangipane mixture will rise a little during baking.

5. Bake at 175 degrees celcius, in a pre-heated oven for about 20-25 minutes for medium sized tarts. When it’s done, it should have a beautiful golden brown colour and it should spring back to touch.

*Tip: If you have extra frangipane filling left, you can store it in the refrigerator for one week. Do store it in an air tight container with cling wrap touching the frangipane. Do let it thaw at room temperature until it is softened before using it. 

Macerated strawberries

These strawberries glisten seductively under light and they are extremely juicy and sweet. Have them on its own or serve them with a dollop of chantilly cream. It’s a very easy recipe and the quantities are just a guideline – you can add them to taste.

450g fresh strawberries
5 tbsp icing sugar, sifted
4 tbsp grand marnier
Optional: grated lemon zest

1. Quarter the strawberries and mix all the ingredients in a bowl until uniform. Cling wrap the bowl and place it in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes to an hour. The berries should start to look glossy, syrupy and slightly softened.

To assemble strawberry frangipane tarts:

1. Allow for frangipane tarts to cool completely before spooning the macerated strawberries onto the top. Try not to spoon the liquid that is left from the maceration onto the tart.

To assemble the grapefruit and orange frangipane tarts:

1. Cut away the membrane and piths of the citrus fruits and cut them into segments. Here’s a step-by-step photo guide by Brian from his food and photography blog, A thought for food that will help you with this task.

2. Arrange them neatly in rows onto the top of the tart. This effect works best on a rectangular tart.

3. Use a +neutral glaze or a apricot glaze and brush it on top of the fruits as this will protect them from spoilage and at the same time, make them look more inviting.

+ You can find neutral glaze at specialty baking stores. Or how about making your own by using a neutral  jam (I like to use apricot). Boil a spoonful or two of apricot jam with two splashes of water until it starts to bubble. Stir it before using a pastry brush to brush your fruits. Do use it when it is hot off the stove.

ee

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Food, Recipe, Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Frangipane tarts: Macerated strawberries frangipane tart + grapefruit & orange frangipane tart

  1. liannelow says:

    wow! Those tarts look so good! I made a chocolate tart once and failed miserably! haha Will get the courage to try again and use your recipe! (: Thanks for sharing! Love the vibrant look!

  2. I know exactly how you feel about the bakeries in Asia. Hong Kong bakeries are horrible. Their cakes are always these bland soggy sponge cakes that look beautiful but have absolutely no taste. I could go on and on about what we do not have here but you have delivered a beautiful colorful tart and I am sure they taste amazing. I think the grapefruit orange one looks especially inviting. Take care, BAM

    • Thanks Bam! Exactly! Sometimes it can be hard to find good French style pastries in Asia…not impossible, just hard. Anw guess if we can’t find what we like, we will just have to make them. ;)

  3. lynabelles says:

    wow! these look absolutely yummy. your photos makes me one to lick my laptop screen! i’m definitely bookmarking! nicely done! :)

  4. pattyabr says:

    so you live in Sinapore now? How long have you been there? I may be taking a trip to Australia in the next year as my son is moving there in a few months. Lovely and beautiful pictures as always. Did you take a food styling and photography class? what kind of camera?

    • Yes I live in Singapore now. Which part of Australia is your son moving to?I’m pretty sure that a trip to Australia will be really exciting! I’m sure you will enjoy yourself!

      Thanks for your encouragement and compliments. I’m just an amateur and have not taken any classes in food styling or photography.. I just experiment on my own and I try to learn from looking beautiful food blogs and magazines. I’m using a Nikon dslr and I have a prime lens and a macro lens that I use for my food photography..

  5. These tarts are so beautiful! I would love to give these a try. I have never made my own pastry, so I’m a little nervous. These are definitely pushing me over the edge, and may be the thing that gets me over that fear!

  6. Thanks Melanie! You bake and cook all the time. I’m pretty sure that’s a little pastry won’t get you down! Go for it!

  7. Jasline says:

    Sorry to hear about your experience with the bakery, but I guess it’s a blessing in disguise since you baked a better one yourself! Yours look really tempting and delicious!

  8. They look so beautiful… I believe you make a better pastries than most cake shop in Spore, ever consider to start your own cake shop? :)

  9. I’m so glad you were able to recreate the idea with tastier results, because now we can all benefit from the recipe, too! The flavors sound so bright and cheerful, it sounds like the perfect thing to save for winter citrus, too.

  10. Alan (travellingfoodies) says:

    Kudos for being featured in today’s AFC FB page. The Tarte aux Fraises does look very appetising indeed! :)

    • thanks Alan! I love your photos on your blog..they all look too perfect if there is such a thing!

      • Alan (travellingfoodies) says:

        I like a lot of your baking too! Glad to have found your blog via AFC. Gonna try your recipes soon! probably gonna start with the macarons via italienne meringue method!

      • Thanks! You have made my day! Hmm give the Italian meringue method a go and see if you prefer it to the French method ;)

      • Alan (travellingfoodies) says:

        I’d tried the Italienne meringue method before but I simply hate cooking the syrup… LOL So I’d been using the French meringue method all this while…Wow, you went to LCB Sydney! envious!

      • well, if the French meringue method works well for you, stick with it I suppose..! no need to fix what is ain’t broken. =)

        for myself, I prefer the Italian meringue method because I find it more stable in our crazy humid weather!

      • Alan (travellingfoodies) says:

        totally agree on the stability of the italienne meringue. french meringue i found more straightforward though… at least no cooking syrup! I suck at that!

  11. Riley says:

    That looks like one flaky crust! Delicious!

  12. Jo, the way you describe the tart is really like the perfect tart for me! Good on you for making a better version! :D

  13. I love tarts and these look so pretty. I love the little rectangular tart pans too. I’m pinning.

  14. Baby Sumo says:

    What a gorgeous looking dessert, will wait for Korean strawberries to be in season again and will try your recipe. Congrats on the AFC feature :)

  15. I like that you added some citrus fruits too, I can imagine how fresh it tastes!

  16. This is so beautiful!

  17. Pingback: Chocolate frangipane plum tart | jothetartqueen

  18. Pingback: Frangipane Tart With Mascerated Strawberries | Bee

  19. Bee says:

    I made the frangipane tart with macerated strawberries using your recipes. It turned out really well! Thanks for sharing. :-)

Leave a Reply

