Homemade lemongrass and ginger ice cream

I love the flavours of lemongrass and ginger on its own and they are even better when brought together. A lemongrass and ginger iced tea is just the perfect drink to uplift and refresh one’s mind and body on a warm day while a hot lemongrass and ginger tea warms and soothes one’s soul in the evening (and it’s even better since it’s caffeine free).

This lemongrass and ginger ice-cream is a more indulgent version of its tea counterpart. I replaced some of the sugar with honey for some mild sweetness with floral accents and threw in some candied ginger bits for that additional mild heat and spiciness.

I really like this ice-cream. It may not be as rich and decadent as the dark chocolate sorbet or as refreshing as the kiwi sorbet. However, it has a bold flavour that comes through the creaminess of the ice-cream. It has an incredible effect for me for it brings to mind the calming cup of lemongrass ginger tea served post-spa sessions.

Yes, I think that is what does it for me.

Recipe: Lemongrass and ginger ice cream
(Adapted from David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop)
Makes 1/2 litre tub

I tweaked David Lebovitz’s vanilla ice cream recipe, replaced some sugar with about a tablespoonful of honey because I think honey goes well with lemongrass and ginger.

Ingredients:
3 stalks of lemongrass, cut into 3″ length and bruised
a thumb length of ginger, peeled and sliced into 1/4″ rounds
125ml whole milk
15g leatherwood honey (or any you like)
130g sugar
250ml heavy cream
pinch salt
3 large egg yolks

candied ginger (optional)

Method:

1. Warm the milk, sugar, honey, half the amount of cream and salt in a medium sauce pan. Add in the bruised lemongrass stalks and sliced ginger. Cover and let the flavours infuse at room temperature for about 20 – 30 minutes.

2. Pour the remaining half of the cream into a large bowl and set a strainer on top. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Pour in the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

3. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a wooden spoon, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spoon. Pour the thickened mixture into a strainer, remove the lemongrass and ginger pieces, and stir the strained mixture into the cream. Stir till cool over an ice bath.

4. Chill the mixture thoroughly ( I like to put it in the refrigerator for about an hour at least). Freeze the mixture in your ice-cream machine according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

About jothetartqueen

My first love is eating. A very close second is my love for baking and cooking. I passionately believe that the best form of appreciation of something is almost always through the creation of it. This passion took me on a whirlwind, unforgettable ride through the patisserie diploma course at Le Cordon Bleu (Sydney). Join me on my discovery for the love of food – through the kitchen, through the markets, through experimenting, tasting and loving.
This entry was posted in Dairy, Desserts, frozen desserts, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Homemade lemongrass and ginger ice cream

  1. That’s it you have me sold. I need to buy and ice cream maker. This flavor combination is so beautiful and fresh just like spring.

  2. {Main St. Cuisine} says:

    I never thought of describing ice cream as beautiful, but this really is. The combination of flavors seems so delicate and unusual, but perfect for this time year. Now, I have to go do a little homework on how to make lemongrass and ginger iced tea. That sounds really good for our hot, sticky summer!

  3. Love this unique flavor!

  4. beti says:

    I’m all crazy about ice cream right now but the problem is that I don’t have an ice cream maker, still your ice cream sounds delicious with ginger

  5. I love this flavour combination. Have you tried Bottle Green ginger and lemongrass soda? It is really yummy.

  6. I am an ice cream fanatic!!! If I would have to choose one food to eat for the rest of my life it will be icecream!!! LOL! this sounds so fresh and good!

  7. Jo, I’ve been such a bad, bad, bad blogger since uni started! And you have all these amazing recipes, I need to catch up!

  8. You’re so right about the refreshing flavour of lemongrass and ginger. When the weather is hot I want these flavours! :D

  9. What a unique ice cream! It sounds amazing.

  10. This combo of flavors just screams summer to me!

  11. A truly inspired flavor combination! I do love lemongrass, but it’s rare to find it in many desserts (or foods at all) outside of Asia. Such a shame, really. Thanks for doing it sweet justice in this recipe. :)

  12. Pingback: Ingredient Spotlight: Lemongrass « The Asian Grandmothers Cookbook

  13. Pingback: Ingredient Spotlight: Lemongrass « The Asian Grandmothers Cookbook

  14. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups thank you once again.

  15. I like reading through an article that can make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  16. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking
    more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

